Whop Inc.
A real payments and community-commerce platform charging roughly 6.2% all-in on completed sales - whose own marketed average of $8,413 a month sits more than a hundred times above the $74 median an independent analysis of 191,654 tracked products actually found.
A genuine payments and commerce platform that charges nothing to join and roughly 6.2% on what actually sells - but the median tracked product earns $74 a month against a marketed average of $8,413, and 87.8% of listings earn nothing at all.
Legal status
LEGAL - no FTC investigation, warning letter, consent order or complaint naming Whop Inc. was located; no SEC enforcement action was found; and no state attorney-general action or consumer-protection consent order naming Whop was located, in the specific searches this research ran (reported as an honest absence in those searches, not a certified clean record on unsearched ground). Separately, despite three disclosed funding rounds totaling more than $267 million from named institutional investors, no SEC Form D or any other SEC filing could be located for Whop under "Whop Inc.," "Whop, Inc.," "Whop Technologies" or "whop.com" in either EDGAR’s company search or its full-text search. That is reported here as exactly what it is - a search that came back empty under the name variants tested, not an assertion that no filing exists anywhere, and not itself evidence of wrongdoing: private companies raising venture capital through certain exempt structures are not always required to file, and the gap may equally reflect an unresolved search as a real one. The one confirmed piece of litigation is Whop, Inc. v. Salisbury (E.D.N.Y., filed 27 March 2025), in which Whop itself sued a counterparty over an alleged breach of contract and voluntarily dismissed the case four days later - not an adjudication on the merits, and not a claim against Whop.
Confidence: Medium-High
Primary sources fetched directly where possible. Everything we could not verify is listed at the bottom of this page by name.
Follow the money
A Brooklyn, New York payments and commerce platform, launched in March 2021 by three young first-time founders, letting anyone start a paid community, membership, course, SaaS-access product or digital download and take payment through Whop’s own checkout or its separate Stripe-competitor payments product.
The platform side is stronger than its reputation among sceptics suggests, and it should be said first. Real commerce runs through it - $2.67 billion in cumulative lifetime GMV reported as of February 2026, an estimated $142 million in annualised 2025 revenue, and roughly 183,000-211,000 active sellers depending on source and date. Real institutional venture investors - Insight Partners, Bain Capital Ventures - led two of its three funding rounds, and a $200 million strategic investment from Tether in February 2026 valued the company at $1.6 billion. None of that is the behavior of a shell or a pass-through recruiting vehicle.
What actually sells on Whop is a wide mix - real SaaS access, paid Discord communities, fitness coaching, e-commerce and dropshipping communities, and courses - alongside a disproportionate share of trading-signal groups, sports-betting “picks” services, and courses about how to sell on Whop itself. Whop’s own Prohibited Products policy explicitly carves gambling and trading advisory services out of its general bans rather than restricting them, and that carve-out is visible in its own top-earner data.
Then the participant-economics finding this report leans on hardest. Whop circulates one marketing figure - an $8,413-a-month average creator-earnings statistic - without the qualifier that it is computed only over creators who earn something at all. An independent analysis of 191,654 tracked products found the actual median, among products that earn anything, to be $74 a month, and found that 87.8% of all tracked products earn nothing measurable. Whop itself charges nothing to join - no starter kit, no inventory, no mandatory purchase - and takes roughly 6.2% only on what actually sells, which is real and favorable pricing. It is the gap between the marketed average and the real median, not the cost of participating, that is the central risk here.
A $100 sale through a seller running the default 30% affiliate rate
This report’s own construction from Whop’s documented fee line items, modeled on a $100 recurring-subscription sale on the core marketplace - Whop does not publish a single blended walkthrough of its own. The 30% affiliate commission is modeled on the gross sale price; Whop’s documentation does not state whether the commission is calculated on gross or net-of-fee, so this is flagged as a modeling assumption, not a confirmed mechanic.
| Product | Price | Pays |
|---|---|---|
| Committed Coaches (fitness and nutrition coaching) The largest tracked listing by estimated revenue in an independent February 2026 analysis - roughly $4.97 million a month across 13,531 members. A real example of genuine, demand-driven paid-community commerce running on Whop. |
$99-$249/mo (modeled from category norms) recurring |
seller-set; default 30% |
| Bravo Six Picks (sports-betting picks) Roughly $550,000 a month across 5,134 members, per the same independent dataset - one of several betting-picks products among Whop’s own highest-earning listings, permitted under Whop’s Prohibited Products carve-out for gambling advisory services. |
$99-$199/mo (modeled) recurring |
seller-set |
| Dr. Profit Premium (crypto trading signals) Roughly $100,000-plus a month across 10,900 members. A trading-signal product of the kind Whop’s Prohibited Products policy does not specifically address, permitted rather than banned. |
$39-$79/mo (modeled) recurring |
seller-set |
| Thomas Kralow AI Trading (algorithmic-trading education) Roughly $529,000 a month across 405 members - a high per-member price implying a premium positioning. Another top-10 listing in the trading-education category. |
$249+/mo, elite band (modeled) recurring |
seller-set |
| LuxNomads VIP (immigration consulting, unlicensed per the tracking source’s own category label) Roughly $1.91 million a month across just 293 members - an extremely high per-member revenue figure for a service category the tracking source itself flags as unlicensed. |
$249+/mo, elite/1-on-1 band (modeled) recurring |
seller-set |
| AutomateClients (marketing-agency SaaS tooling) Roughly $524,000 a month across 131 members - a genuine software-tool-access product, the kind of listing this report credits under product. |
$249+/mo, elite band (modeled) recurring |
seller-set |
| “The Truth” (self-improvement and men’s coaching content) Directly quoted by a 2024 feature on Whop as a real, named example of the lower-ticket self-improvement category that makes up a meaningful share of the platform’s listings. |
$50/mo recurring |
seller-set |
| The median tracked product, for contrast Among the 21,524 of 191,654 tracked products (11.2%) that earn any measurable revenue at all, the median is $74 a month - not one of the named listings above, but the outcome this report treats as realistically typical. |
— recurring |
— |
Who runs it, and what they ran before
Met co-founder Cameron Zoub at 13 in a sneaker-reselling online group and built automated purchasing software (“sneaker bots”) with him under the name Sole Sniper, sold for $20-$500 each. Studied at NYU’s Stern School of Business, interned at Accenture in Singapore in 2019, and graduated the same year Whop launched, 2021. No regulatory action, fraud judgment or criminal proceeding against him could be located in any source reviewed for this report.
Left high school to work on the Sole Sniper bot business full time after early profits, then co-founded an IT consulting agency with Schwartz in late 2018 that reportedly reached $100,000 a month in revenue before the pair pivoted to Whop. No adverse regulatory or legal history could be located.
A software developer who met Zoub in high school and had already built products for small businesses before joining Schwartz and Zoub to found Whop in March 2021. No adverse regulatory or legal history could be located.
This research found no source supporting the claim, sometimes repeated online, that Whop went through Y Combinator or a similarly named accelerator - the earliest funding relationship this research could document runs through Cory Levy’s Z Fellows program, which introduced the founders to investor Justin Mateen and, through him, to Peter Thiel and the syndicate that became the Series A. Separately, and unrelated to any wrongdoing, three institutional funding rounds totaling more than $267 million produced no locatable SEC Form D under any tested name, and the company’s own incorporation date, business-started date and press-reported founding date do not agree with one another. Neither point is a finding against the founders; both are recorded here because a reader assessing “who legally owns it” deserves the actual state of the public record.
Registered address
Brooklyn, New York, USA
No audited public financial statements exist for this private company. Revenue and GMV figures throughout this report are Whop’s own public statements or third-party analyst estimates, characterised as such wherever used - a private-market research firm estimates roughly $142 million in annualised 2025 revenue, up from roughly $56 million at the end of 2024, and Whop itself has said it was on pace to process over $1 billion a year in payments as of April 2025. State of incorporation could not be independently confirmed; Delaware is the overwhelming convention for a U.S. venture-backed company of this kind, but no state filing was located to confirm it here.
The veteran's checklist
Eight questions that decide whether this is a business or a transfer mechanism. Same eight, every review.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Who legally owns it? |
WATCH
Whop Inc., a private, VC-funded corporation headquartered in Brooklyn, New York, led by its three co-founders. No audited public accounts exist; revenue and GMV figures are company statements or third-party estimates.
|
| What does it really cost? |
OK
Nothing upfront - no starter kit, no inventory, no mandatory subscription. Whop takes roughly 6.2% all-in only on completed sales, with additional disclosed fees for disputes, affiliate processing and certain payout methods.
|
| Published income disclosure? |
CONCERN
No. Whop circulates a single $8,413/month average, computed over earning creators only and not accompanied by a median. An independent analysis of 191,654 products found the real median, among earners, to be $74/month.
|
| Regulatory action against the company, ever? |
WATCH
No FTC, SEC or state attorney-general action was found in the searches this research ran. Separately, no SEC filing of any kind was located for any of Whop’s three funding rounds under any tested name - a filing gap, not an enforcement finding.
|
| Can the company change the deal after you sign? |
CONCERN
Yes, within limits. A seller’s affiliate commission rate “can change or end at any time” per the Earnings Terms, and Whop can terminate any participant’s access “for any reason at any time” with commissions stopping immediately.
|
| Can you get your money back? |
WATCH
Refund terms are set individually by each seller, not by Whop platform-wide - buyer protection varies by which seller and product was purchased. On a suspended account, Whop’s own policy discloses a 90-to-180-day fund hold.
|
| What does the compensation structure actually pay on? |
OK
Real completed transactions - a referred seller’s real revenue for six months, a referred buyer’s real purchase, a completed bounty task, a viewed clip. No fee is charged for recruiting anyone, and no multi-level recruitment cascade was found.
|
| Merchant play or miner play? |
WATCH
Merchant, and unusually cleanly so for this site - the earning programs pay on real commerce, not recruitment. The risk here is not the compensation structure; it is the gap between the marketed average outcome and the documented median one.
|
What has to be true for you to get paid
| To cover | You need |
|---|---|
| List a $29/month community with no ad spend, organic audience only | 4 paying members clears $100 gross a month (~$93.80 net of Whop’s ~6.2% take) - achievable for someone with an existing following, but still a below-median outcome against the $74 documented median for earning products |
| Become an affiliate with no existing audience, buying paid traffic | enough referred sales at the (commonly) 30% rate to clear ad spend Whop’s ban on bidding its own trademark keyword forecloses the lowest-cost-per-click paid-search route many affiliates default to, pushing acquisition cost higher; break-even depends entirely on the affiliate’s own traffic skill, not on anything Whop guarantees or subsidises |
| Recover from a 90-180 day fund hold on a suspended $10,000 balance | roughly six months of alternative cash flow the Prohibited Products policy’s own disclosed hold window, even for a seller ultimately cleared and paid in full - a real, disclosed cash-flow risk this report counts under payout and terms |
| Beat the marketed $8,413/month average from a standing start | roughly 114x the documented $74 median against a median revenue among earning products of $74/month and a background rate of 87.8% of all tracked products earning $0 at all |
Read this twice
The most useful arithmetic here is not about fees - Whop’s own costs are genuinely low and disclosed - but about the gap between the marketed headline and the documented typical outcome. Whop itself circulates an $8,413-a-month average creator-earnings figure; an independent analysis of every one of the 191,654 products tracked on the platform in February 2026 found that 87.8% earn $0 in measurable revenue and that the median among the minority that do earn something is $74 a month. That means the marketed figure describes a rare outcome achieved only within the highest-earning slice of an already-small earning minority, not a typical result of joining. None of that is Whop charging excessive fees: there is no starter kit, no inventory purchase, and the roughly 6.2% all-in take rate on an actual sale is genuinely competitive against named alternatives. The binding constraint for a realistic participant is not cost, it is audience and product-market fit, exactly as it would be on any open marketplace - and Whop’s trademark-bidding restriction (no paid search on the word “Whop” or its misspellings without written approval) forecloses one of the cheapest acquisition channels a new affiliate might otherwise default to.
Run your own numbers
Drag the sliders. Nothing here is stored or sent.
Fifteen dollars is Whop’s documented default 30% seller-set affiliate commission applied to "The Truth," a real, named $50/month product this report’s own sourcing quotes at that price - used as a representative recurring subscription price since no platform-wide average per-customer price is published. Individual sellers can set a different rate; 30% is Whop’s own default. The cost line is $0 because becoming an affiliate carries no fee of any kind. This models the product-affiliate commission only - Whop’s separate "refer Sellers" track, which pays a cut of Whop’s own platform revenue from a seller you bring onto the platform rather than a cut of a sale, is capped at six months and is not represented here. Your own subscription cost of $0/mo is included.
What it costs to replace this yourself
Whop’s own published fee schedule against named open-market alternatives offering comparable capability, at their own 2026 list prices. This is a genuinely favorable comparison for Whop on a pure percentage-of-revenue basis below roughly $2,500-$5,000 a month in sales - above that threshold, a flat-monthly-fee competitor can become cheaper.
| What they sell you | What you'd use instead | Your cost |
|---|---|---|
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Gumroad digital-download marketplace with built-in checkout | 10% + $0.50/transaction, no monthly fee |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Payhip digital-download marketplace (free tier) | 5%/transaction, no monthly fee |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Patreon paid membership platform | 8-12% platform fee (tier-dependent) + processing |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Substack paid newsletter platform | 10% of subscription revenue + processing |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Shopify standalone e-commerce storefront | $29-$299+/month + 2.9%+$0.30 processing (or +2% off-platform payments) |
| Whop Payments raw processing - 2.7% + $0.30 domestic cards | Stripe, direct | 2.9% + $0.30/transaction (US cards) |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Kajabi course-hosting platform | $149-$399+/month, 0% additional transaction fee |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Teachable course-hosting platform (lower tier) | $59-$249+/month + transaction fees on lower tiers |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Circle paid community/chat platform | $89-$360+/month |
| Whop marketplace + native checkout - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee | Discord free tier, no native payments | $0, plus a separate bolted-on payment tool to monetize at all |
| Total as sold ~6.2% of revenue, no monthly fee, below roughly $2,500-$5,000/month in sales |
Total, built yourself 5%-12% of revenue, or $29-$399+/month flat, depending on vendor and volume |
Price-to-value
Below the crossover point, Whop is close to the cheapest option in this table on a pure percentage basis, and it beats Gumroad outright on a like-for-like transaction regardless of volume. Above roughly $2,500-$5,000 a month in sales, a flat-monthly-fee competitor such as Kajabi or Circle can become cheaper than Whop’s percentage cut - the crossover point a growing seller should actually watch, rather than the headline “3%” figure alone, once the several smaller disclosed line items (dispute fees, affiliate-processing fees, payout-method fees) are added in.
Three operators, five horizons
Probability of cumulative net profit
Hover any point for median, top decile and bottom quartile.
Median tracked seller
lists one paid community with no meaningful existing audience - the outcome an independent analysis of 191,654 products found to be typical among products earning anything at all
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 30% | $0 |
| 6 mo | 22% | $40 |
| 1 yr | 18% | $74 |
| 3 yr | 13% | $74 |
| 5 yr | 11% | $74 |
Top-tier seller
a professional operator scaling a trading, coaching or picks community into the platform’s top tier - representative of the roughly 0.05% of tracked products earning over $100,000 a month, not the single highest outlier
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 1% | $5,000 |
| 6 mo | 1% | $25,000 |
| 1 yr | 0.3% | $60,000 |
| 3 yr | 0.1% | $150,000 |
| 5 yr | 0.05% | $180,000 |
Affiliate with an existing audience
5,000 engaged followers referring buyers to a $49/month product at the default 30% commission rate - this report’s own conservative model, anchored to Whop’s documented rate and payout-fee figures, not a Whop-published case study
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 45% | $700 |
| 6 mo | 32% | $650 |
| 1 yr | 24% | $600 |
| 3 yr | 13% | $450 |
| 5 yr | 9% | $350 |
Methodology note. ANCHORED to independent, third-party-documented figures: that 87.8% of 191,654 tracked products earn $0 and the median among products earning anything is $74/month; that the top 1% of earners capture 56.5% of all platform revenue and the top 10% capture 91.6%; that roughly 105 of 191,654 tracked products (about 0.05%) exceed $100,000/month, with a #4-ranked example at roughly $589,000/month across 1,614 members; and to this report’s own first-month affiliate calculation (50 sales at a $49 product and the default 30% rate nets roughly $726 after the 1.25% affiliate-processing fee). MODELED by us: every multi-year trajectory, the declining p at each horizon (representing survivorship - the share of listings still active and earning at that level as unproductive listings are abandoned or never launch further), and the dollar ranges beyond the single anchored data points, because Whop does not publish a percentile- or cohort-based earnings table of the kind an income-disclosure statement would carry. The declining ongoing-revenue figures in the affiliate profile reflect a real, disclosed risk stated in Whop’s own Earnings Terms: a seller’s commission rate “can change or end at any time,” so an affiliate’s recurring income is never contractually guaranteed to persist.
Where you are actually allowed to promote this
Platform policy reads, not verifications. Check every one before you spend a dollar - enforcement changes faster than the written policy does.
Red flags and green flags
Red flags
131No formal income disclosure statement exists
2The median earning product makes $74/month against a marketed average of $8,413/month
387.8% of 191,654 tracked products earn $0 in measurable revenue
4Revenue is extremely concentrated at the top
5No SEC filing could be located for any of three funding rounds totaling over $267 million
6Mandatory binding arbitration and a class-action waiver apply to both buyers and sellers
7Whop can terminate any participant “for any reason at any time”
8Suspended funds can be held for 90 to 180 days
9A $15 dispute fee applies to sellers win or lose
10Trading-signal and crypto-signal products are not restricted by name
11Trustpilot’s own aggregate review summary flags a recurring complaint pattern around frozen or withheld funds
12The affiliate commission base is not specified
13The company’s own incorporation date, business-started date and press-reported founding date do not agree
Green flags
91No starter kit, inventory purchase or upfront fee to become a seller or affiliate
2A published, itemised, genuinely competitive fee schedule
3Real, substantial, independently reported commerce
4Institutional-grade venture investors behind two of three funding rounds
5No SEC, FTC, or state attorney-general enforcement action found against Whop
6Specific, written FTC-disclosure and anti-impersonation rules imposed on affiliates
7Sellers keep their customer relationship and content ownership
8“Lifetime” and perpetual-access listings are banned outright
9No evidence of deadline-stacking or artificial urgency in recruitment marketing
We would like to be wrong about this
Upward
- Publication of a real, dated, percentile-based income disclosure by Whop itself, breaking participant earnings out by rank rather than relying on a single average-only marketing figure.
- Confirmed SEC Form D filings surfacing under any of Whop’s corporate names, resolving rather than necessarily improving the current filing-transparency gap.
- Documented, consistent enforcement action against trading-signal or betting-picks sellers found to be defrauding buyers, showing real platform-level risk management rather than a bare permission to operate.
Downward
- Any surfaced FTC or state attorney-general action against Whop itself - not a third-party seller - for facilitating unlicensed financial-advice or trading-signal sales.
- Evidence that Whop’s own consumer-facing marketing, not just press and investor coverage, uses the $8,413-a-month figure as a direct recruitment pitch without the earners-only qualifier.
- A confirmed pattern, beyond the single Trustpilot-summary mention found here, of funds being frozen without adequate cause or timely resolution.
Grade is B. A real, VC-scrutinised payments and commerce platform charging genuinely competitive fees on real transactions, attached to a marketed average that overstates the typical outcome by more than a hundred times.
What is genuinely good here should be said plainly. Whop is a real payments and commerce company - $2.67 billion in cumulative lifetime GMV, an estimated $142 million in annualised 2025 revenue, and institutional venture investors (Insight Partners, Bain Capital Ventures, and a $200 million strategic investment from Tether at a $1.6 billion valuation) who each ran their own due diligence before writing a check. There is no starter kit, no inventory to buy, and no fee of any kind for recruiting anyone into anything. Its own affiliate structure pays on real completed transactions, single-level and time-boxed, not through a multi-generational recruitment cascade. Its published take rate - roughly 6.2% all-in, no monthly fee - is independently confirmed cheaper than a named competitor on a like-for-like transaction, and it bans “lifetime” listings outright, forcing every seller to disclose a bounded access term.
Then the number that decides most of this grade. Whop’s own circulating marketing statistic is an $8,413-a-month average creator-earnings figure. An independent analysis of every one of the 191,654 products tracked on the platform in February 2026 found that 87.8% earn $0 in measurable revenue, and that the median among the minority that do earn something is $74 a month - not a rounding gap from the marketed figure, a gap of more than a hundred to one, because the average is computed only over the successful minority and is not disclosed as such anywhere this research found it published. Revenue is extremely concentrated: the top 1% of earners take 56.5% of everything the platform generates, and the top 10% take 91.6%. None of this is a lie in the strict sense - the average is a real average - but it is exactly the headline-masks-median pattern this site exists to catch.
The last piece needs care, because nothing here has been proven wrong. What actually sells at the top of this marketplace is disproportionately trading-signal groups, sports-betting “picks” communities, and courses about how to sell on Whop itself, and Whop’s own Prohibited Products policy carves gambling and trading advisory services out of its bans rather than restricting them - a platform-level choice, not a claim about any specific seller’s honesty. Separately, and unrelated to that: mandatory arbitration and a class-action waiver limit legal recourse for both buyers and sellers; a suspended account’s funds can be held for 90 to 180 days; and despite three funding rounds totaling more than $267 million, no SEC filing could be located under any tested name, and the company’s own incorporation date, business-started date and press-reported founding date do not agree with each other. None of that is a finding of wrongdoing. All of it is the kind of detail a reader deciding whether to build here should have in front of them.
Treat the $8,413 figure as a ceiling, not a floor
Anchor any expectation to the documented $74 median among products that earn anything at all, and to the 87.8% that earn nothing - not to the average, which is computed only over the successful minority.
Get the affiliate commission base confirmed in writing before relying on an estimate
Whop’s own documentation does not state whether the default 30% rate applies to the gross sale price or the price net of Whop’s fee - ask the specific seller before building a revenue plan around it.
Price the 90-180 day fund-hold risk into any cash-flow plan
A seller relying on near-term Whop payouts for rent, ad spend or contractor payments should hold enough reserve to survive a suspension-pending-investigation, even one that ultimately resolves in their favor.
If the product itself is a trading-signal or betting-picks community, grade that product separately
This report grades becoming a Whop seller or affiliate, not the specific edge or track record of any individual signal or picks product sold through it - that is a different, product-specific question a buyer should answer before paying for access.
Nine dimensions, weighted
Dimension profile
Further from center is better. Hover any point.
Hard caps that bind here
The lowest binding cap wins, regardless of the weighted arithmetic.
What we read
Every source below links to the document itself. Tier 1 is a primary record - the company’s own plan, policy or disclosure, a court filing, a regulator’s decision or an SEC filing. Tier 2 is a self-regulatory or secondary regulator record, tier 3 reporting or academic work, tier 4 an open-market price comparison. Where a document can be moved or withdrawn, an archived copy is linked beside it. If a link is dead when you try it, that is a correction we want.
- Whop.com
Aggregates and cross-cites TechCrunch, Fast Company, Business Insider, Fortune, WSJ and Variety on founding date, founders, HQ moves, all three funding rounds with amounts, investors and valuations, and the Content Rewards “clipping” feature.
Not established by this document: Secondary source; underlying primary articles were independently checked where possible.
- Whop, an online marketplace for digital goods, raises $17M
Primary reporting with direct founder quotes on the Series A ($17M, Insight Partners-led, >$100M valuation), 3,000 sellers, $100M cumulative transactions, a 20-person team, and the reporter’s own candid observation about the sports-betting/crypto listing mix and moderation capacity.
Not established by this document: 2023 snapshot; the company has grown substantially since.
- These 2 friends started a sneaker side hustle at age 13 - now their company brings in more than $354,000 a month
Founder-biography detail (the Sole Sniper sneaker-bot business, the IT consulting agency, the Z Fellows/Cory Levy/Justin Mateen introduction path to Peter Thiel) and CNBC’s own independently calculated revenue estimate from Whop’s then-published fee schedule (3-4.5% + $0.40; 30% for featured sellers).
Not established by this document: The revenue figure is CNBC’s own calculation, reviewed but not confirmed in specific figures by Whop.
- Inside Whop, the $300 million Gen Z marketplace for selling your expertise
Direct founder interview confirming Schwartz and Zoub’s age, product-category examples (“The Truth” at $50/month), a “digital Etsy” framing, and the detail that the founders built and mostly abandoned more than twenty prior small ventures.
Not established by this document: None material.
- The Gen Z cofounder of $1.6 billion Whop says his platform has minted over 650 millionaires
Direct CEO quotes used in the marketing-conduct assessment; the “650 millionaires” company claim; the roughly 120-employee headcount as of mid-2026.
Not established by this document: The “650 millionaires” figure is a company claim relayed by the reporter, not independently audited.
- Whop | BBB Business Profile
Not BBB accredited; lists an incorporation date of 7/28/2020, a business-started date of 2/24/2022, entity type Corporation, named principals, and verbatim excerpts from individual consumer complaints.
Not established by this document: No letter-grade rating was captured in the fetched content, and BBB does not verify complaint accuracy or resolve the date discrepancy against the press-reported founding date.
- Whop Reviews | Read Customer Service Reviews of whop.com
3.7/5 aggregate across 2,339 reviews; Trustpilot’s own AI-generated theme summary identifies a recurring complaint pattern around frozen or blocked payment funds and unclear support resolution.
Not established by this document: Aggregated consumer sentiment, not a verified-transaction audit; reviews are not independently fact-checked by Trustpilot per its own disclosure.
- Terms of Service | Whop
Fetched and read in full: platform-not-merchant legal posture, mandatory binding arbitration and class-action waiver, 13+ (18+ for the earning programs) age eligibility, and KYC/Financial-Partner dependency for payouts.
Not established by this document: None - primary document, fetched directly.
- Seller Terms | Whop
Fetched and read in full: merchant-of-record-for-payments-only structure, seller responsibility for chargebacks, disputes and refunds, ban on “lifetime”/perpetual-access listings, and fee-deduction mechanics.
Not established by this document: None - primary document, fetched directly.
- Buyer Terms | Whop
Fetched and read in full: buyer payment authorization, subscription auto-renewal and seller-controlled cancellation mechanics, and fee/currency-conversion disclosure at checkout.
Not established by this document: None - primary document, fetched directly.
- Earnings Terms | Whop
Fetched and read in full: defines all three earning programs (Affiliate, Bounty, Content Rewards), the two Affiliate Program tracks (refer-Sellers / refer-Buyers), the FTC-disclosure and trademark-bidding rules, the no-earnings-guarantee disclaimer, and termination/clawback terms.
Not established by this document: Does not state the exact percentage paid on the “refer Sellers” track, nor whether affiliate commission is computed on gross or net sale price.
- Affiliate program - Whop Docs
Fetched and read in full: default 30% global affiliate rate, an adjustable member affiliate rate (worked example: 50%), a 30-day payout waiting period, and custom per-user commission configuration for partnerships.
Not established by this document: None - primary document, fetched directly.
- Fees - Whop Docs
Fetched and read in full: the complete itemized fee schedule for Whop’s payments-infrastructure product - card processing (2.7%+$0.30 domestic), financing (15%), payout methods and fees, dispute fees ($15 flat), the 1.25% affiliate-processing fee, and tax/billing/orchestration line items.
Not established by this document: This is the “Whop Payments” raw-infrastructure fee page; the separate core-marketplace “platform fee” percentage (reported elsewhere as ~3%) was not found restated verbatim on this specific page as fetched.
- Prohibited Products & Services Policy | Whop
Fetched and read in full: the full prohibited-category list; an explicit carve-out permitting gambling/sports-betting “information, analysis, picks, or other advisory services”; and a 90-day (up to 120-180-day) fund hold on suspension.
Not established by this document: Does not separately address trading-signal or crypto-signal products by name - confirmed absent, not merely unread.
- Whop, Inc. v. Salisbury (1:25-cv-01705) docket
Fetched and read in full: Whop Inc. as plaintiff, breach-of-contract/diversity jurisdiction, filed 2025-03-27, voluntarily dismissed by Whop’s own counsel 2025-03-31, case closed the same day - no adjudication on the merits.
Not established by this document: The underlying complaint and settlement terms are not accessible via this docket summary; a related state-court entry could not be fetched (tool timeout).
- SEC EDGAR company search: "whop"
Fetched directly: returns only an unrelated entity, “WhoPlusYou Inc.” (CIK 0001547360, last Form D 2015); no “Whop Inc.” or “Whop Technologies” entity found under this or a Form-D-filtered search.
Not established by this document: A company-name search only finds exact or close name matches; it does not rule out a filing under a materially different legal name.
- SEC EDGAR full-text search: "Whop, Inc."
Fetched directly across three separate exact-phrase queries (“Whop, Inc.”, “Whop Technologies”, “whop.com”): zero hits for any variant across all EDGAR filings, confirming no Form D or other SEC filing is indexed under these names.
Not established by this document: EDGAR full-text search coverage begins in 2001 and indexes primary filing text; an obscure or differently named filing could theoretically evade an exact-phrase match.
- Whop revenue, valuation & funding
Fetched directly: $142M estimated annualized revenue (Oct 2025), $2.67B cumulative lifetime GMV (Feb 2026), a take-rate trend from 4.0% to 5.5%, 18.4M+ users, 183,628 sellers, 258 sellers past $1M lifetime, the $8,413/mo average creator-earnings figure, and funding detail on the Series A, Series B and Tether round.
Not established by this document: An analyst estimate service, not an audited company filing; revenue and GMV figures are Sacra’s modeled estimates informed by company statements, not verified financial statements.
- How Much Do Whop Creators Earn? 191K Products Analyzed
Fetched directly: the full earnings distribution across 191,654 tracked products - median $74/mo, 87.8% earning $0, top 1% capturing 56.5% of revenue, and named top-10 earning products with estimated monthly revenue.
Not established by this document: The independent estimate methodology is not audited by this research; the “revenue estimates” are the site’s own modeling, not confirmed Whop-internal data.
- How Much Can You Make on Whop 2026? The $8,413/mo Truth
Fetched directly: a second independent source corroborating extreme earnings concentration (258 sellers past $1M of more than 200,000 registered), confirmation of the 3% platform fee, and a fee-comparison table against Gumroad and Payhip.
Not established by this document: An independent estimate/blog, not an audited or company-confirmed data source; it corroborates but does not independently replicate whoptrends’ exact median figure.
- Whop | BBB Complaints
Surfaced alongside the main BBB profile, referenced for the complaints-category context underlying the regulatory file and red flags.
Not established by this document: The full complaint listing and count were not independently fetched in this research; only the main profile page’s embedded complaint excerpts were read in full.
- Tether invests $200 million in Whop to expand stablecoin payments
One of several independent outlets corroborating the Tether $200M/$1.6B valuation round and its stated use of proceeds.
Not established by this document: Search-snippet-level confirmation; the figures are consistent across multiple independently published outlets found in this research.
- Whop - 2026 Funding Rounds & List of Investors
Fetched directly: the funding-round table (Series A at $17M/$100M valuation; the Tether round labeled “Series C” at $200M/$1.6B valuation) and an extended investor list.
Not established by this document: Tracxn’s own totals were internally inconsistent across pages fetched in this research ($217M in one place, $273.0M in a separate snippet) - flagged rather than resolved.
- Whop - Crunchbase Company Profile & Funding
Fetched directly: confirms Brooklyn/NY headquarters, an 11-50 employee band as of Crunchbase’s last update, and 17 listed investors.
Not established by this document: A free-tier Crunchbase view; the total funding figure was obfuscated behind a paywall in the fetched content.
- Whop, an online marketplace for digital goods, raises $17M - Fundraise Insider republication
A secondary republication corroborating the Series A amount and general terms independently of TechCrunch.
Not established by this document: Not independently fetched in full; relied on for corroboration only, not as a source of new facts.
- Is Whop Content Rewards Legit? / Content Rewards Complaints
A third-party blog aggregating Reddit-sourced anecdotes about the Content Rewards (“clipping”) program - a botting-detection controversy and platform response, a clip-rejection-after-delivery pattern, and one unresolved payment-dispute anecdote.
Not established by this document: A single-source aggregation of unverified Reddit anecdotes; stage-labeled as weakest-tier public criticism, not treated as established fact anywhere in this report.
- Whop Chargebacks: A Seller’s Guide to Refunds and Disputes
Corroborates the sub-1% dispute-rate suspension threshold and the $15 dispute-fee figure; separately relays an unverified secondhand claim about a trading-signal product generating complaints, treated here as unverified and single-source.
Not established by this document: A commercial vendor with a business interest in emphasizing dispute and chargeback risk; the secondhand claim specifically could not be corroborated by a second source or a court docket.
What we could not get
- The exact incorporation date and state of incorporation for Whop Inc. - BBB lists 28 July 2020 (incorporated) and 24 February 2022 (business started), neither matching the press-reported March 2021 founding date; no state of incorporation was confirmed by any state filing.
- Whop’s SEC Form D filing status - actively searched (an EDGAR company search plus three full-text exact-phrase queries) and not found under any tested name variant, despite three institutional funding rounds; the cause was not determined.
- The exact commission percentage on the Affiliate Program’s “Refer Sellers” track - Whop’s own fetched documentation confirms the mechanic (a percentage of Whop’s own revenue from the referred seller, for six months) but not the specific rate.
- Whether the default 30% (or custom) affiliate commission is calculated on the gross sale price or the price net of Whop’s own fee - not specified in any Whop documentation fetched for this report.
- Whether Whop’s own consumer-facing marketing (ads, onboarding, landing pages) uses the $8,413/month figure directly, versus the figure circulating only in press and investor-facing coverage - this materially affects how hard a mktg deduction should be, and was not resolved.
- The original source document for the $8,413/month figure - it recurs identically across multiple derivative sites in a way consistent with a single Whop-originated press release or blog post, but that original document was not located and directly fetched.
- Whether Whop is registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN or holds state money-transmitter licenses directly, as distinct from its disclosed reliance on third-party “Financial Partners” who may hold such registrations on its behalf.
Not advice
This is independent analysis for decision-making, not legal, financial or investment advice. Allegations reported by third parties should be verified against primary court and regulatory records before any decision.
Researched by Claude. Reviewed by an editor.
Every report is researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, from the company’s own plan documents, policies, terms and regulatory file - then reviewed before publication by Rob Fore, who checks the sources and the stage-label on every allegation.
- Nine weighted dimensions, published with their weights
- The editor checks the evidence and cannot change the number - the build rejects any page whose grade does not reconcile to its own arithmetic
- Every affiliate position we hold is disclosed on the report it touches
- No company has paid for a grade, and no report carries an affiliate link
Looking at something else?
Enter any company name or website. If a report exists it opens instantly; if not, we start one.
Whop - frequently asked
QIs Whop itself an MLM?
QHow much do Whop sellers actually earn?
QHow much does it cost to sell or become an affiliate on Whop?
QHas Whop had any SEC or FTC trouble?
QWhat actually sells on Whop, and is that risky?
Author, editor and publisher
This report was researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, working from primary documents - Whop’s own compensation plan, its policies and procedures, its terms of service, its income disclosure statement where one exists, and its regulatory and self-regulatory file. It was scored against nine weighted dimensions that are published in full, with their weights, on the methodology page.
Before publication it was reviewed by Rob Fore, who checks every source link, every figure against the document it came from, and every allegation against its stage-label - an investigation is not a finding, a warning letter is not an enforcement action, and a filed claim is not a verdict.
The editor does not set the grade. The published score is the weighted composite of the nine dimension scores, and the build refuses to emit a page where the two disagree by more than 0.06. A grade moves when the evidence moves it and not otherwise.
Rob Fore has marketed online since 1996, wrote Online MLM Marketing (2014), and is CEO of Listech Inc, the Nevada corporation that publishes this site. He holds affiliate positions in companies graded here - including LiveGood, which this site grades D, SendOutCards, which it grades C−, and the Home Business Academy, which it grades B−. Those positions are disclosed on the reports they touch, and changed nothing on this page.
About the author and our conflicts · Contact the editor · Corrections: corrections@opportunitygrade.com
Tell me if this grade changes
Whop is graded B as of September 11, 2026. Grades move when the evidence moves - a new income disclosure, a regulatory action, a rewritten compensation plan. Leave your address and you will get one email if this one does.
One email when the grade moves, and nothing else. We will never use your address to promote an income opportunity of any kind, we do not sell, rent or share the list, and it is stored on our own infrastructure rather than with any company graded here. Unsubscribe removes everything.
Corrections
Every factual claim on this page is sourced, and the ones we could not stand up are named in the unable to verify list above. If something here is wrong, we want to know, and we would rather hear it from Whop than from a reader.
Write to corrections@opportunitygrade.com. Point at the specific sentence and send the document that contradicts it - a plan document, a filing, an income disclosure, a policy page. We will check it against the primary source, correct the page if it is wrong, and say in the report that it was corrected and when. A grade moves if the evidence moves it.
This address reaches a person, not a form. We do not require a takedown demand, an NDA or a lawyer to accept a correction, and we do not remove a report because a company disputes its conclusion - only because the underlying facts turn out to be wrong.