PHP Agency, Inc.
A genuine, portable state insurance license and a genuinely demanded product - sold through an eleven-rung contract ladder on which every single promotion requires recruits, so a producer who sells well and recruits nobody stays at 30% of target premium permanently while the open market pays 55% to 100% for nothing.
The company publishes its own income disclosure - rare in this channel and a real credit - and that disclosure shows 44.10% of paid agents earning under $1,000 for the year, averaging $388.59, against a realistic Texas first-year cost of $1,543 to $5,033.
Can you actually make money with PHP Agency?
Yes, with conditions, and the strongest thing here is something you keep. A resident life producer license is issued by a state insurance department to you personally. It survives termination, it survives the company, and it cannot be clawed back. Pay the $199, get licensed, sell nothing, quit after six months, and you still walk out holding a credential an independent brokerage will contract that same afternoon at 55% to 100% of target premium. That is the single strongest fact in the file and it belongs first.
Nothing here is paid for recruiting itself. No headhunting fee, no pack bonus, no commission on enrollment, and the company's own disclosure states that you cannot earn income from sponsoring new agents. Every dollar starts life as first-year or renewal commission on a real policy underwritten by a real carrier. What the plan does instead is withhold your contract level: all eleven promotions require recruits, from three direct business partners at the bottom to six hundred licensed agents at the top, and no rung is reachable on personal sales alone.
So a producer who sells well and sponsors nobody sits at 30% permanently while the ladder runs to 82%, and that decides what leads can do for you. Twenty exclusive final-expense web leads a month at $35 is $700 of spend, and on a lead vendor's own optimistic funnel that yields about 1.8 issued policies paying roughly $231 each at a 30% contract. The arithmetic runs at minus $403 a month at 30%, minus $291 at 40% and minus $179 at 50%. It turns positive at the 75% rung, which needs fifteen licensed agents and fifty base recruits.
The company publishes an income disclosure when most of this channel publishes none, and the contents are hard. In the 2022 edition, 44.10% of paid life-licensed agents earned under $1,000 for the year, averaging $388.59, and 74.92% earned under $5,000, while the top 2.02% took 49.4% of all agent income. It states no denominator, it is gross of every cost, and it excludes everybody who paid the $199 and never got licensed - against a realistic Texas first year of $1,543 on the frugal path and $5,033 on the normal one.
one-time New Associate Fee with a three-business-day refund window, then $99–$180 a year in platform fees and a reported $15 a month for the app - all before a dollar of state licensing cost
- You are there for the license, and you know what it is worth elsewhere. Independent brokerages contract never-licensed agents at 55% to 100% and many pay for the pre-licensing course, so that comparison is available to you before you sign anything.
- You can sell out of a warm market rather than out of a lead budget. Bought leads run negative at every contract level below Marketing Director on published vendor prices and published vendor conversion rates, and that is before fuel and phone.
- You are willing to recruit, or content to stay at the entry contract. No promotion on this ladder is reachable through personal production alone, so it is not a decision you can defer until you have seen how the selling goes.
- You ask for the restrictive covenants in writing before paying anything. The two-year non-solicit, the confidentiality provision and the Dallas forum clause are documented in a federal court's recitation of the contract, not in the agreement published on the website.
That call is computed, not chosen - the rule reads three of the nine published dimension scores and is printed on the methodology page. It describes this company's plan and the figures it publishes about the people already in it. It is not a prediction about you, and nothing on this site is advice.
Legal status
LEGAL - no court and no regulator has found PHP Agency to be a pyramid scheme, and no state insurance department order, consent order, cease-and-desist, assurance of voluntary compliance, FINRA matter or SEC proceeding naming the company or any named executive was located in the searches run for this report. What the file does contain is one self-regulatory matter - DSSRC Case #209-2025, closed 14 April 2025 by administrative closure after the company removed fourteen challenged income and lifestyle claims rather than attempt to substantiate them. The DSSRC is the direct-selling industry’s own self-regulatory council, operated by BBB National Programs: its closure is a private body’s determination, not a government sanction, not a fine and not a finding of liability. The file also contains four civil actions, in two of which PHP is the plaintiff suing its own former agents; a filed complaint is an allegation and none of the four produced a merits judgment this report could retrieve. The 154 BBB complaints closed over three years are consumer allegations recorded by a private ratings body, not findings.
Confidence: Medium-High
Primary sources fetched directly where possible. Everything we could not verify is listed at the bottom of this page by name.
Follow the money
A Texas life-insurance field marketing organization - it describes itself as a "tech-enabled FMO" - that holds top-of-house distribution contracts with carriers and contracts individual producers underneath them at a "contract level," meaning the percentage of a policy’s target premium the writing agent personally keeps. Everything between the writing agent’s level and the level held by each person above them is override. The company has been a subsidiary of Integrity Marketing Group since 20 July 2022.
Four things about it are genuinely good and belong first. The product is real and independently demanded: term, whole life, indexed universal life, simplified-issue, final expense and fixed indexed annuities, underwritten by ordinary well-capitalized carriers and backed by state guaranty associations. The license the recruit earns is a state credential issued to them personally - it is portable, it survives termination, it survives the company, and it is the single most valuable thing anyone acquires here. There is no inventory, no autoship and no mandatory product purchase. And the company publishes an income disclosure, which almost nobody in this channel does; that act of publishing is a transparency credit and this report awards it even though the numbers inside are grim.
Now the ladder, which is what the grade turns on. Eleven ranks run from Trainee at 30% of target premium to Chairman’s Council at 82%, and every single promotion requires recruiting as well as production: three direct business partners for Associate, one direct Associate plus fifteen base recruits for Field Associate, thirty base recruits for Director, fifteen licensed agents and fifty base recruits for Marketing Director, and six hundred licensed agents at the top. There is no rung a producer can reach on personal sales alone. On a single sale with $1,200 of target premium, a Trainee is paid $360 and the hierarchy above splits as much as $624 - the person who sat in the kitchen and filled out the application is paid less than the people who did not. That is how every FMO works and it is not concealment; the criticism is that 30% is an unusually punitive entry rung when independent brokerages routinely start never-licensed agents at 55% to 100%.
The prospecting method and the ladder interlock, and this is the analytical core of the file. The taught method is warm-market - write a list of 100 friends, family and former colleagues, and work it with an upline riding along. Its genuine advantage is that lead cost is zero, so the break-even bar is set by fixed fees alone rather than by lead spend, which matters a great deal for a cash-poor recruit. Its defect is that a list of 100 warm names is a finite, non-renewable asset that produces sales for perhaps 60 to 120 days and is then gone. At that point the agent can buy leads, which the arithmetic shows loses money at every contract level below Marketing Director; cold-prospect, which almost no first-year agent sustains; or recruit - because a recruit arrives with a fresh list of 100 names and the upline earns override on those sales. The recruiting requirement in the ladder is not incidental to the lead model. It is the lead model.
And the exit terms are the worst part. From the federal court’s recitation of the contract: a two-year post-termination bar on recruiting the company’s associates to a competitor, a confidentiality provision, and a Dallas County forum clause - enforced in an action against ten former agents at once pleading nine causes of action. The Terms of Service adds AAA arbitration in Dallas with a class waiver. The refund window on the entry fee is three business days. None of those covenants appears in the agreement published on the company’s own website, which is the finding: the published agreement is not the whole agreement, and a prospect cannot read the binding parts before paying.
Where each first-year commission dollar goes on an entry-level sale
A MODEL, not a company disclosure. One indexed universal life sale with $1,200 of target premium; the carrier releases 110% of target premium - $1,320 - into the distribution channel; the writing agent is a Trainee at 30% and the hierarchy above runs to 82%. Built from the published ladder and industry-standard carrier allocations.
| Product | Price | Pays |
|---|---|---|
| New Associate Fee (entry) Covers administrative processing, educational materials, licensing resources and twelve months of platform access. Refundable only within three business days of enrollment, by email. No evidence was found that any part of it is paid up the hierarchy, and the income disclosure states that no income can be earned from sponsoring - so it is modeled as retained by the company, which is materially better than a product MLM entry pack. |
$199 one-time |
no commission paid on it |
| Annual platform fee From year two onward, per the company’s own income disclosure document. At the claimed field size this is a revenue line of real scale in its own right, before a single policy is sold. |
$99/yr Associate · $180/yr Marketing Director annual |
— |
| Mobile app subscription Reported by agents on a public employer-review site rather than published by the company. $180 a year. |
$15/month recurring |
— |
| Term life (10–35 year) The right product for most of the stated mission demographic - cheap, simple, high face amount per dollar. 70–110% of premium is released into the channel; a Trainee at 30% receives $90 to $396 of it, where an independent at 100% would receive $300 to $1,320. |
$300–$1,200 annual premium per policy |
30% at Trainee |
| Indexed universal life Permanent cover with cash value credited to an equity index subject to a cap and a floor. Commission is paid on target premium - a carrier-defined base usually well below what the client actually pays - so a client paying $6,000 a year against a $2,400 target earns a Trainee $720, not $1,800. Excess premium above target typically pays 2–4%. Any recruiter quoting "30% of the premium" is describing something that does not exist. |
$1,200–$6,000 annual premium (middle market) per policy |
30% of target premium at Trainee |
| Whole life and simplified-issue / no-exam 55–110% released into the channel depending on product and carrier. Simplified-issue costs the client more per unit of cover in exchange for skipping the medical exam. |
$600–$3,000 annual premium per policy |
30% at Trainee |
| Final expense / burial (ages 50–80) Small whole-life policies of $5,000 to $25,000 face value, and the product most commonly sold on purchased leads. 100–120% released into the channel; $180 to $648 to a Trainee. First-year lapse rates in this segment commonly run 20% to 35%, which is where chargeback risk concentrates. |
$600–$1,800 annual premium per policy |
30% at Trainee |
| Fixed indexed annuity Commission is a percentage of the deposit rather than of an annualised premium, and how the contract-level ladder maps onto annuity compensation could not be determined - so no entry-level annuity figure is published here. Most states apply the NAIC best-interest standard and a four-hour suitability training requirement before an agent may sell these. |
$50,000–$500,000+ deposit per contract |
4–8% of deposit into the channel |
Who runs it, and what they ran before
Born in Tehran in 1978, came to the United States as a refugee via a camp in Germany, served in the 101st Airborne Division, and was hired as a financial advisor at a major brokerage in Glendale, California in September 2001. He then spent roughly eight years to 2009 selling under the umbrella of the carrier Transamerica - a carrier, and unproblematic to name - through what the documentary record and the near-identical model he subsequently built strongly suggest was the largest multi-level life-insurance distribution hierarchy in the United States, an organization this site has already graded separately and which is therefore not named here. That identification is a strong inference, not a first-party confirmation. He founded this business in 2009, became a Managing Partner at the acquiring platform in July 2022, and runs a very large media operation alongside both roles. No regulatory bar, criminal matter, fraud judgment or state insurance-department disciplinary order naming him could be located in any source reviewed - a genuine positive and worth stating plainly.
Appointed one year after the acquisition. Her appointment, together with the founder’s two other concurrent senior roles, means the person whose face and audience sell this opportunity is not the person running day-to-day operations. That is normal at scale and is recorded as a governance fact, not a criticism. No regulatory or disciplinary matter naming her was located.
A named, single-point compliance function listed with the BBB as a principal of the business. In a channel where the compliance role is frequently unnamed or absent, having a named General Counsel who is also Chief Compliance Officer is a real structural credit, and the Terms of Service prohibitions on autodialers, spam, unscreened contact and lead reselling read as the product of a functioning legal department. No regulatory or disciplinary matter naming him was located.
An earlier $10 million expansion round in August 2017 was led by Ambina Partners and Atalaya Capital Management, with participation from Brener International Group and Oscar De La Hoya. The material event is the 2022 acquisition. Two things follow that a recruit should hold in mind together. First, the recruiting page advertises "the opportunity to earn equity," and the acquisition release says employees gained access to the parent’s Employee Ownership Plan - but whether 1099 field agents are eligible, what the units are worth, how they are valued, what the vesting schedule is and whether any liquidity mechanism exists short of a sale of the parent are all unpublished. Treat it as an undocumented promise: not a benefit, and not a fraud. Second, no retrievable public financial statement, leverage metric or credit rating for the parent exists, so this report makes no claim about the parent’s financial condition in either direction. Neither a change of control nor an executive departure is a finding of wrongdoing.
Registered address
Addison, Texas, USA
The operating entity appears under two suffixes in current documents - "PHP Agency, Inc." on the BBB file, the 2021 New Associate Agreement and the federal court caption; "PHP Agency, LLC" on the 2022 income disclosure, the Terms of Service and the 2025 self-regulatory caption - which is consistent with a conversion at or around the 2022 acquisition, though the Texas Secretary of State filing itself could not be retrieved for this report and the conversion is therefore an inference rather than a verified fact. The single largest thing a recruit is unlikely to know is the ownership: since 20 July 2022 this has not been an independent company but a subsidiary of Integrity Marketing Group, a Dallas insurance distribution platform in which Silver Lake led a $1.2 billion strategic investment in December 2021 alongside HGGC and Harvest Partners. Financial terms of the PHP acquisition were not disclosed; Houlihan Lokey acted as sell-side adviser. A change of control is not a finding of wrongdoing, and institutional ownership brings real governance infrastructure that a founder-run agency lacks. It also means contract levels, override spreads and platform fees are now levers inside a platform with institutional return expectations. The company publishes its own agent-count history - 5,000 in 2017, 11,000 in 2019, 21,000 in 2021, 27,000 in 2022, 45,000 in 2024, and 50,000-plus claimed today across 49 states and Puerto Rico - alongside a stated goal of 500,000 licensed agents by 2029, which is roughly a tenfold increase in five years. It also publishes a self-reported field demographic: 43% Hispanic or Latino, 34% Black or African American, 53% women, average age 35, and 92% with no prior industry experience. That last figure is presented as accessibility, and in one sense it is; it also means more than nine in ten agents are learning a regulated financial product for the first time from an upline paid on the spread between their contract level and the recruit’s.
The veteran's checklist
Eight questions that decide whether this is a business or a transfer mechanism. Same eight, every review.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Who legally owns it? |
WATCH
A subsidiary of Integrity Marketing Group since 20 July 2022, a Dallas distribution platform backed by Silver Lake, HGGC and Harvest Partners. Terms were not disclosed and no public accounts exist for the parent. A change of control is not a finding of wrongdoing; it does mean contract levels and fees are levers inside a platform the agent has never met.
|
| What does it really cost? |
CONCERN
$199 to the company, then $99–$180 a year and a reported $15 a month. Then licensing at $150–$290 in Texas, E&O at about $500, office plug-in fees reported from $30 to $1,000 a month, and event tickets. Realistic Texas year one: $1,543 frugal, $5,033 normal.
|
| Published income disclosure? |
CONCERN
Yes - rare and creditable in this channel. It shows 44.10% of paid agents under $1,000 averaging $388.59, 74.92% under $5,000, and the top 2.02% taking 49.4% of all agent income. No denominator, gross of costs, and the most recent public edition covers 2022.
|
| Does anything pay for recruiting? |
RED
No commission is paid for the act of sponsoring, and no evidence was found that the $199 flows up the hierarchy. But all eleven promotions require recruits, so a producer who will not recruit stays at a 30% contract permanently while the ladder runs to 82%.
|
| Any regulatory action? |
WATCH
None located - no state insurance department order, no FINRA matter, no SEC proceeding, no TCPA docket, no wage-and-hour or discrimination suit. What exists is DSSRC Case #209-2025, closed 14 April 2025 after fourteen income claims were removed rather than substantiated: a self-regulatory closure, not a government sanction.
|
| Is any of this a securities investment? |
OK
No. The fee buys services, not a return on capital, and Howey fails at common enterprise and at efforts-of-others. The products are insurance, so a life-only license suffices and no Series 6 or 63 gap arises. Commission advancing is a loan to the agent, not an investment by the agent.
|
| What happens if you leave? |
RED
You keep your license, always - it is a state credential in your own name. You do not keep your downline, and for two years you may not recruit from it, enforced in Dallas County with AAA arbitration and a class waiver. Whether renewals vest, and whether a book can be sold, is published nowhere.
|
| Merchant play or miner play? |
CONCERN
Miner, structurally - but a miner in a real profession. The sale is genuine and the license is genuinely valuable, yet personal production alone loses money against market lead prices below the 75% rung, and that rung costs 15 licensed agents and 50 base recruits.
|
What has to be true for you to get paid
| To cover | You need |
|---|---|
| Recover the frugal Texas first-year cost, warm market only | 5 issued policies (6 with clawback) $1,543 of first-year cost ÷ $360 per sale at a 30% contract on $1,200 of target premium |
| Recover the normal-path first-year cost | 14 issued policies $5,033 ÷ $360, once a national convention, a mid office plug-in and an own policy are included |
| Break even buying 20 exclusive leads a month at a 30% contract | a 62% issued-policy rate per lead against a 9% industry benchmark - roughly seven times it. Structurally impossible at the entry contract |
| Reach the rung where personal production alone pays | 15 licensed agents and 50 base recruits Marketing Director at 75%, the first level at which the lead model nets positive on personal sales |
Read this twice
Two arithmetics run in parallel here and they reach opposite conclusions, which is why the entry-level economics of this organization are so widely misdescribed in both directions. On the taught warm-market method, break-even is genuinely reachable and quickly: lead cost is zero, so the only bar is the fixed cost, and five or six issued policies clears it. A recruit who works a hundred-name list hard for five months and writes ten policies grosses $3,600 at a 30% contract, loses roughly $675 to lapses at a 25% first-year lapse rate with a blended clawback, pays $1,543 of first-year cost and ends the year about $1,382 ahead. That is a real, positive number and this report will not pretend otherwise. It is also roughly 400 hours of evenings and weekends, which works out near $3.45 an hour, and it is materially consistent with the company’s own published median of about $1,500 - the model and the disclosure corroborate each other, which is the strongest validation available for either. Then month seven arrives and the list is empty. The second arithmetic covers what happens next. Buying leads at market prices - 20 exclusive final-expense web leads a month at $35, a 9% issued-policy rate taken straight from a lead vendor’s own optimistic funnel, a $700 average annual premium and 110% of premium released into the channel - produces $416 of gross commission a month against $700 of lead spend, about $40 of platform and app fees, and roughly 19% of the commission clawed back. That is minus $403 a month at a 30% contract, minus $291 at 40%, minus $179 at 50%, and only plus $102 at the 75% Marketing Director level. An identically productive agent at an independent brokerage on a 100% contract nets plus $408 a month from day one on the same leads, the same close rate and the same premium. Every purchased-lead route is loss-making at the entry contract: exclusive web leads cost $389 per issued policy against $231 of commission, direct mail $444, live transfers $400, and even aged leads at $8 apiece cost $267 against $231. So the only route to positive cash flow inside the model, once the warm market is exhausted, is override income; and the only route to override income is recruiting. That is what "the plan pays for recruitment rather than sales" means in concrete dollars. Note two honest caveats. The company does not require anyone to buy leads, and the zero-lead-cost method is a genuine advantage over lead-buying organizations for a cash-poor recruit. And the advance and chargeback terms modeled here are industry norms drawn from published carrier schedules - the company publishes neither its own advance percentage nor its own chargeback schedule, which is itself a finding.
Run your own numbers
Drag the sliders. Nothing here is stored or sent.
Set the ad-spend slider to your monthly lead budget, because that is the real cost of this business and the reason the presets matter. Exclusive final-expense web leads run about $35 each and a published industry-vendor conversion chain issues roughly nine policies per hundred leads - an optimistic figure produced by a lead seller, and the brief notes a realistic first-year rate is nearer four to seven. A $700 monthly budget therefore buys about twenty leads and produces about 1.8 issued policies. The $231 per policy is a 30% entry contract on the $770 of first-year commission a roughly $700 annual premium releases into the channel; the ladder runs to 82%, and an independent brokerage on a 100% contract would pay $770 on the identical sale. Cost is the $15 monthly platform plus the $199 entry and $99 fee spread across a first year. Commissions are paid almost entirely in year one, so nothing compounds and the churn slider is disabled - but lapses still bite: first-year lapse on this book commonly runs 20–35%, and with a blended clawback the expected drag is around 19% of first-year commission, which this slider does not deduct. Read every figure as gross of that. Your own subscription cost of $40/mo is included.
What it costs to replace this yourself
Every row is a real, currently available route to the same job, at open-market prices. The comparison that matters is not the $199 - it is the contract level, because that is what is actually being paid for, on every policy, for as long as the agent stays.
| What they sell you | What you'd use instead | Your cost |
|---|---|---|
| Entry fee, licensing support and "educational materials" - $199 | Buy the pre-licensing course and sit the state exam yourself: exam prep, exam fee, fingerprinting, department filing | $150–$290 in Texas · $478–$629 in California |
| 30% of target premium as a new agent | Independent life brokerage or IMO with no downline requirement | $0 - 55–100% from day one; many pay your course and reimburse the exam |
| 30% and a two-year non-solicit | Direct carrier appointment, applied for yourself | $0–$100 in appointment fees - carrier street level, typically 70–90% |
| Commission-only from day one with no floor | Captive career agency - the traditional route, with training and supervision | $0, plus a validated training allowance commonly $2,000–$4,500/mo, benefits and a 401(k) |
| Self-employed with no wage floor and full self-employment tax | W-2 producer or account manager at an established independent agency | $0 - $40,000–$65,000 base plus commission, unemployment insurance and workers’ comp |
| Pay to learn the industry | Service role at a carrier or agency, licensing paid by the employer, then transfer into sales | $0 - $38,000–$55,000 while you learn |
| Buy your own final-expense leads on a 30% contract | Final-expense telesales desk that supplies the leads | $0 up front - 80–110% contract with lead cost charged back against commission |
| Life only, highly lapse-sensitive | Property and casualty license first, add life later | ~$140 in Texas - P&C renews at 10–15% and a P&C book is genuinely saleable |
| Contract-level ladder gated on recruits | Medicare and senior-market FMO | $0 plus ~$175/yr certification - CMS-capped flat commissions, so no contract-level games |
| The $199 entry and the first-year cost that follows it | Keep the day job and simply buy term cover for your own family | $20–$60/month - the outcome most recruits would have been better off with |
| Total as sold $1,543–$5,033 in year one, then a 25-to-70-point commission haircut for as long as you stay |
Total, built yourself $0–$290 to hold the identical state license, unattached |
Price-to-value
Row two is the direct comparison and it is devastating on the arithmetic: the same job, the same carriers, the same leads and the same clients, at 55% to 100% of target premium from day one instead of 30%, with no recruiting requirement and no two-year non-solicit. On the median-production model that difference is roughly $811 a month, or about $9,700 a year, on identical work. The honest counter-argument is that rows two and four assume a self-starter who can prospect without structure, and this organization supplies structure - a peer group, a weekly office meeting, a scripted warm-market method, a mentor with a financial stake in the first sale, and a room that reflects a demographic the captive career agencies have historically under-recruited. That is a real service and it is why the field force is as large as it is. The question is whether it is worth 25 to 70 points of commission plus a two-year restraint, and on the numbers it is not.
Three operators, five horizons
Probability of cumulative net profit
Hover any point for median, top decile and bottom quartile.
Warm-market part-timer
evenings and weekends, works a hundred-name list, no lead spend, no recruiting
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 34% | −$460 |
| 6 mo | 41% | +$180 |
| 1 yr | 38% | −$120 |
| 3 yr | 21% | −$1,900 |
| 5 yr | 17% | −$3,400 |
Full-time producer who will not recruit
40+ hrs/wk, genuinely good at selling, buys leads once the warm market dies, stays at 30–40%
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 22% | −$1,400 |
| 6 mo | 19% | −$2,700 |
| 1 yr | 16% | −$5,100 |
| 3 yr | 12% | −$14,000 |
| 5 yr | 11% | −$22,000 |
Builder who recruits
climbs the ladder, runs the Tuesday meeting, income becomes a function of downline headcount
| Horizon | P(profit) | Median |
|---|---|---|
| 3 mo | 9% | −$2,100 |
| 6 mo | 13% | −$3,200 |
| 1 yr | 18% | −$4,400 |
| 3 yr | 27% | −$3,000 |
| 5 yr | 31% | +$4,500 |
Methodology note. These are MODELED outcome ranges, not claims, not promises and not company figures - no cohort data of this kind is published by anyone in this channel. ANCHORED to the company’s own 2022 income disclosure: 44.10% of paid life-licensed agents under $1,000 averaging $388.59, 74.92% under $5,000, the top 2.02% taking 49.4% of all agent income, a derived mean of about $11,155 and an interpolated median of about $1,500. Anchored also to the published cost side - the $199 entry, the $99–$180 annual platform fee, the reported $15 monthly app, and the Texas first-year totals of $1,543 frugal and $5,033 normal - and to the published ladder, with its 30% entry contract and its 75% Marketing Director rung requiring 15 licensed agents and 50 base recruits. MODELED by us: the cohort definitions, which the company does not segment; the share of each cohort in cumulative profit; the warm-market decay curve; lead prices, contact and close rates taken from published vendor benchmarks; and the chargeback drag, taken from published carrier schedules because the company publishes neither its advance percentage nor its own chargeback terms. Three calibration notes, two of which cut in the company’s favor. The warm-market cohort is genuinely positive in its first six months, because zero lead cost sets a low bar - that is real and it is why the first row looks unlike the equivalent row on a product-MLM page. The builder cohort turns positive only at three to five years, which is honest: this plan is not abusive at the top, where a Marketing Director keeps 68 cents of the commission dollar on their own sales. And every negative figure here excludes the value of the license itself, which the agent keeps in all cases and can carry to an open-market contract paying 55% to 100% the following Monday.
Where you are actually allowed to promote this
Platform policy reads, not verifications. Check every one before you spend a dollar - enforcement changes faster than the written policy does.
Red flags and green flags
Red flags
151Every promotion in the eleven-level ladder requires recruiting
2A 30% entry contract where the open market starts new agents at 55% to 100%
3Buying leads is loss-making at every contract level below Marketing Director
444.10% of paid agents earned under $1,000, averaging $388.59
5The published agreement is not the whole agreement
6The company sues its former agents
7A three-business-day refund window on the entry fee
8DSSRC Case #209-2025: fourteen claims removed rather than substantiated
9154 BBB complaints closed in three years
10Advance and chargeback terms are disclosed nowhere
11"Points," "base recruits" and "super base recruits" are undefined publicly
12No carrier list is published
13Office "plug-in" fees charged by the local hierarchy
14"The opportunity to earn equity" with no accessible plan document
15A structural incentive toward indexed universal life over term
Green flags
101The license belongs to the agent, permanently and portably
2No inventory, no autoship and no mandatory product purchase
3Nothing is paid for recruiting itself
4It publishes an income disclosure when most of this channel publishes none
5Real products from real, well-capitalized carriers
6No securities exposure and no securities-licensing mismatch
7No government regulatory action located anywhere
8No TCPA, wage-and-hour or discrimination docket located
9The self-regulatory matter was remediated cooperatively
10Institutional ownership and a named compliance function
We would like to be wrong about this
Upward
- Decoupling contract level from recruiting - letting a producer climb the ladder on personal production alone, or simply raising the entry rung from 30% toward the 55%-plus the open market pays. This is the single change that would most move the grade, and it would move compensation and price-to-value together.
- Publishing the full compensation plan in machine-readable form with the points conversion and the definitions of "base recruit" and "super base recruit," plus the vesting schedule, the advance percentage and the chargeback schedule, at a public URL a prospect can read before paying $199.
- A current income disclosure with a stated denominator and a definition of "paid agent," including everyone who paid the entry fee in the period; a carrier list on the public site; a refund window extended from three business days to thirty days; and either shortening the two-year non-solicit or vesting renewals immediately on issue.
Downward
- Any state insurance department order, consent order, fine or cease-and-desist naming the company or an executive; an FTC action on income-claim or business-opportunity grounds; or a second self-regulatory case, particularly a referral to the FTC rather than a cooperative closure.
- Evidence that any portion of the entry fee or the annual platform fee flows up the hierarchy as recruitment compensation, or that a personal policy purchase is a contract term rather than a cultural norm. Either would convert the service fee into recruitment pay and would fire a hard cap immediately.
- A regulatory finding of unsuitable indexed universal life or annuity sales by the field force, a TCPA class action or an FLSA collective with an adverse first-instance decision, or withdrawal of the income disclosure from the public site.
Grade is D+. A real, portable state license and a genuinely demanded product, attached to a contract ladder where the commission rate itself is bought with recruits rather than sales.
Four things here are better than this organization’s reputation and they belong first. The product is real: regulated life cover from ordinary well-capitalized carriers, priced by actuaries, backed by state guaranty associations, bought by people who would want it whether or not anybody was recruiting agents. The license is the agent’s own - a state credential in their name that survives termination and the company alike, and that an independent brokerage will contract on the same afternoon. There is no inventory, no autoship and no mandatory product purchase, and nothing whatsoever is paid for the act of recruiting: every dollar in the plan starts life as commission on a policy somebody actually bought. And the company publishes an income disclosure, which almost nobody in this channel does. Those are not small credits. They are the reason the securities, product and payout-sustainability scores on this page are high, and the reason no regulator has ever alleged a pyramid.
The grade is set by the ladder. Eleven ranks run from 30% of target premium to 82%, and every promotion requires recruits as well as production - three, then fifteen, then thirty, then fifty, then six hundred licensed agents at the top. There is no rung a producer can reach on personal sales alone, so someone who sells superbly and recruits nobody stays at 30% permanently. That is not a recruitment bonus; it is worse, because a withheld contract level compounds across every policy the agent will ever write. The open market prices the same capability at 55% to 100% from day one, for $0, and the state pre-licensing route costs $150 to $290 at retail in Texas. The company’s own disclosure shows what the difference produces: 44.10% of paid agents under $1,000 averaging $388.59, 74.92% under $5,000, and the top 2.02% taking 49.4% of all agent income - against a realistic first-year cost of $1,543 to $5,033 on an advertised $199.
The third element is the exit, and it is documented rather than inferred. The federal court in the Martinez action recited the contract: a two-year bar on recruiting the company’s associates to a competitor, a confidentiality provision and a Dallas County forum clause, enforced against ten former agents at once on nine causes of action. The Terms of Service adds AAA arbitration in Dallas with a class waiver. The refund window on the entry fee is three business days. And none of those covenants appears in the agreement the company publishes for prospects - the published agreement is not the whole agreement. Whether renewals vest, what happens to a downline on termination, and whether a book of business can ever be sold could not be established from any public document. Stage-label all of it correctly: nothing here is a regulatory finding, the self-regulatory case was closed after cooperative remediation rather than adjudication, and no court has found against this company on anything. The criticism is the structure, not a verdict.
Buy the license at retail first, then decide who to contract with
Exam prep, the exam fee, fingerprinting and the department filing come to $150 to $290 all-in in Texas and $478 to $629 in California. That produces the identical credential, in your own name, with no affiliation, no non-solicit, no downline obligation and no three-day refund window. Every agency worth joining will contract you the same week - and you will be negotiating from a position where the license is already yours rather than something you are being helped to obtain.
Negotiate the contract level, the vesting term and the release policy in writing before you sign anything
These three clauses decide whether an insurance career is a business or a job you cannot take with you. Ask any prospective organization, in writing: what percentage of target premium do I start at, when do renewals vest, will you release me to another carrier appointment on request, and what happens to my book if I leave. Independent brokerages answer those questions in an email. If an answer is vague or the document is not shown to you, that is the answer.
Run the lead arithmetic before you run the emotion
Twenty exclusive final-expense leads at $35 is $700 a month. A 9% issued-policy rate - a lead vendor’s own optimistic number - is 1.8 policies. At a $700 average premium with 110% released into the channel, a 30% contract pays $231 a policy. That is $416 against $700. Do that sum on whatever contract level you are actually offered, at whatever lead price you are actually quoted, and see which side of zero you land on before you spend a dollar.
If you want the room, get the room without the haircut
The genuine service on offer here is structure - a peer group, a weekly meeting, a scripted method, a mentor with a stake in your first sale. That is worth having and it is why the field force is large. But it is available elsewhere at a fraction of the economic price: a captive career agency pays a validated training allowance and benefits while you learn, a W-2 producer role at an independent agency pays $40,000 to $65,000 plus commission, and a service role at a carrier will pay for your licensing outright. None of them charges you 25 to 70 points of your own commission for the privilege.
Nine dimensions, weighted
Dimension profile
Further from center is better. Hover any point.
Hard caps that bind here
The lowest binding cap wins, regardless of the weighted arithmetic.
What we read
Every source below links to the document itself. Tier 1 is a primary record - the company’s own plan, policy or disclosure, a court filing, a regulator’s decision or an SEC filing. Tier 2 is a self-regulatory or secondary regulator record, tier 3 reporting or academic work, tier 4 an open-market price comparison. Where a document can be moved or withdrawn, an archived copy is linked beside it. If a link is dead when you try it, that is a correction we want.
- PHP Agency, LLC Income Disclosure 2022 (PDF, published December 2023) - 44.10% of paid life-licensed agents under $1,000 averaging $388.59; top 0.17% averaging $990,875.25; $199 New Associate fee; $99 / $180 annual platform fees; "You cannot earn income from sponsoring new agents"
PHP Agency income disclosure for calendar year 2022, published December 2023 at the company’s own public URL - 44.10% of paid life-licensed agents under $1,000 averaging $388.59; 74.92% under $5,000; top 2.02% at 49.4% of all agent income; top 0.17% averaging $990,875; annual platform fees of $99 and $180; and the statement "You cannot earn income from sponsoring new agents"
- PHP Agency, Inc. New Associate Agreement & Refund Policy (2021.10 revision, PDF) - the $199 one-time New Associate Fee, the three-business-day refund window by email, independent-contractor designation and the prohibition on false or misleading income representations
PHP Agency New Associate Agreement & Refund Policy (2021 revision, published on the company site) - the $199 one-time fee, the three-business-day refund window by email, independent-contractor designation, prohibition on false or misleading income representations, and the non-disparagement clause
- PHP Agency, LLC Terms of Service, version 2023.10 (PDF) - independent-contractor status, conditions on use of the Company's Resources, and the liability limitation
PHP Agency Terms of Service dated 12 November 2023 - binding AAA arbitration in Dallas under the Commercial Arbitration Rules with an express jury-trial and class-action waiver; prohibitions on autodialers, spam, unscreened contact, do-not-call violations, unauthorised lead reselling and trademark misuse; Medicare-specific restrictions
- PHP Agency, Inc. v. Jose Martinez et al., Civil Action No. 3:21-CV-00418-X (N.D. Tex.) - Memorandum Opinion and Order of 10 January 2022 granting in part and denying in part the defendants' motions to dismiss (Claims Six, Seven and Eight dismissed with leave to amend; breach-of-contract, Texas Uniform Trade Secrets Act and Defend Trade Secrets Act claims permitted to proceed)
PHP Agency, Inc. v. Martinez et al., N.D. Tex. Civil Action No. 3:21-cv-00418-X - the court’s recitation of the two-year associate non-solicit, the confidentiality provision, the ethics clause and the Dallas County forum-selection clause; nine causes of action against ten former agents; the 27 September 2022 ruling dismissing three claims with leave to amend and permitting the rest to proceed; the 28 February 2023 denial of default judgment without prejudice. Interlocutory rulings only, no merits judgment retrieved, and the competing organization named in the opinion is graded separately on this site and is therefore not named here
- PHP Agency, Inc. v. Martinez - Memorandum Opinion and Order of 27 September 2022 on the counter-defendants' motions to dismiss the former Associates' counterclaims, reciting the New Associate Agreement dispute and the misclassification, withheld-override and false-income-promise allegations
- PHP Agency, Inc. v. Martinez - Memorandum Opinion and Order of 14 September 2022 denying the motion to vacate the clerk's entry of default
- DSSRC Case #209-2025: Administrative Closure - PHP Agency, LLC, closed 14 April 2025 (fourteen income and lifestyle claims identified, including "six figures in less than a year" and "$104,000" a month; all removed rather than substantiated; mandatory Social Media Compliance Certification created)
BBB National Programs, Direct Selling Self-Regulatory Council Case #209-2025, closed 14 April 2025 - fourteen income and lifestyle claims identified as communicating atypical earnings expectations, including "six figures in less than a year" and "$104,000" a month; all fourteen removed rather than substantiated; website modified; agreements updated; mandatory social-media compliance certification created; actions recorded as necessary, appropriate and made in good faith
- PHP Agency, Inc. - BBB Business Profile, Addison, Texas (file opened 22 December 2016; BBB Accredited since 28 September 2020; A+ rating)
Better Business Bureau business profile and complaint file, Addison, Texas - file opened 22 December 2016, accredited since 28 September 2020, A+ rating, 154 complaints closed in three years and 22 in the last twelve months, categorised across product, service, order, customer-service, advertising, billing and delivery issues, with refunds of the $199 the dominant theme
- PHP Agency, Inc. - BBB complaint file (complaints closed in the last three years and the last twelve months)
- "Become An Insurance Agent" - PHP Agency corporate recruiting page, including the compensation program, monthly bonuses and "the opportunity to earn equity"
PHP Agency corporate site - the "tech-enabled FMO" self-description, the agent-count series from 5,000 in 2017 to 45,000 in 2024 with a stated 2029 goal of 500,000, the 49-state and Puerto Rico footprint, the self-reported field demographics including 92% with no prior industry experience, the leadership page, and the "opportunity to earn equity" on the recruiting page
- Integrity Marketing Group PHP Agency press kit (PDF) - "PHP Agency has grown from 66 agents in one office to over 27,000 agents located in 49 states across the U.S. and Puerto Rico"
- "Patrick Bet-David and PHP Agency Join Integrity to Accelerate Growth and Serve More People", 20 July 2022 - acquisition announcement, terms not disclosed, founder appointed a Managing Partner, PHP employees to take part in Integrity's Employee Ownership Plan
Integrity Marketing Group acquisition announcement of 20 July 2022 and the sell-side adviser’s transaction record - the acquisition of PHP Agency, terms not disclosed, the founder’s appointment as a Managing Partner, the 27,000 agent figure for 2022, and employee access to the parent’s Employee Ownership Plan; plus the December 2021 announcement of a $1.2 billion strategic investment led by Silver Lake alongside HGGC and Harvest Partners
- "Houlihan Lokey Advises PHP Agency" - sell-side adviser's transaction record for the acquisition of PHP Agency, Inc. by Integrity Marketing Group, LLC (more than 27,000 agents)
- "Ambina Partners Announces Sale of PHP Agency", 27 July 2022 - prior institutional investor's account of the 2017 investment and the sale to Integrity
- "Integrity Announces Strategic Investment from Silver Lake to Accelerate Growth as Omnichannel Insurtech Leader", 9 December 2021 - $1.2 billion investment led by Silver Lake, with Harvest Partners the largest institutional investor and HGGC a significant investor
- Integrity Marketing Group press kit for the Silver Lake investment (PDF), 9 December 2021
What we could not get
- The Texas Secretary of State filing number, formation date and entity-conversion record. The state system is behind a paid login and third-party mirrors returned blocks, so this is a retrieval failure rather than evidence of absence - the filings certainly exist. Whether "PHP Agency, Inc." formally converted to "PHP Agency, LLC," and when, is therefore a strong inference from document dates and not a verified fact.
- The primary compensation-plan document. A PDF titled as the company’s compensation plan is publicly hosted, but it is an image-only scan from which no text could be extracted, so the eleven-rung ladder on this page is reconstructed from three secondary sources that agree with one another on every rank name, percentage and threshold. Treat the percentages as reliable-by-corroboration rather than primary-sourced.
- The definitions of "points," "base recruit" and "super base recruit." Promotion thresholds run from 3,000 points at Associate to 1,200,000 at the top rung, and no public definition of the points-to-premium conversion could be found anywhere. A prospect cannot compute a single promotion threshold from any public document. No conversion rate is guessed at here.
- The advance percentage and the chargeback schedule. The company discloses neither, in any document a prospect can read. The industry norm is an advance of about 75% of first-year commission over a nine-month earn-out, and published carrier schedules commonly recapture 100% in months one to six and 50% in months seven to twelve - those norms are what this page models, and no company-specific figure is published because none could be found.
- Vesting of renewals, what happens to a downline on termination, and whether a book of business can be sold. One industry source reports one year of service to full vesting; no company document confirms it and the company publishes nothing on any of the three. Vesting is the single most valuable term in an insurance agent’s contract, and this one is invisible before signing.
- The current carrier appointment list. No carrier is named on the homepage, the About page, the recruiting page or the consumer product site. The set most consistently reported in independent reviews is Allianz, Corebridge, Nationwide, National Life Group, Foresters, National Western and American National - secondary-sourced, possibly stale, and not confirmed as the current appointment list.
- Any income disclosure more recent than 2022. Site-restricted searches, the upload directories and the recruiting page’s own document links were all checked and all still point at the 2022 edition as of this review date - a four-year lag. A newer edition behind an agent login cannot be ruled out. Also unverified: the denominator behind the percentages, which the document never states, and whether 1099 field agents are eligible for the parent’s equity plan at all.
- The final disposition of all four located civil actions - the federal action against ten former agents, a Harris County action naming the company and two individuals as defendants, a Texas state petition against a former agent, and a California state-court action in which the company is a defendant and the plaintiff is a rival recruiting organization graded separately on this site. Only captions and interlocutory rulings could be retrieved; none has produced a merits judgment this report could read, and no finding exists against anyone. Distinguish these carefully from the genuine nulls, which are different and are worth publishing as such: no state insurance department action, no FINRA or SEC matter, no TCPA docket, no FLSA or misclassification suit and no discrimination suit naming the company or any named executive was located, in searches whose limits are described on this page.
Not advice
This is independent analysis for decision-making, not legal, financial or investment advice. Allegations reported by third parties should be verified against primary court and regulatory records before any decision.
Researched by Claude. Reviewed by an editor.
Every report is researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, from the company’s own plan documents, policies, terms and regulatory file - then reviewed before publication by Rob Fore, who checks the sources and the stage-label on every allegation.
- Nine weighted dimensions, published with their weights
- The editor checks the evidence and cannot change the number - the build rejects any page whose grade does not reconcile to its own arithmetic
- Every affiliate position we hold is disclosed on the report it touches
- No company has paid for a grade, and no report carries an affiliate link
Looking at something else?
Enter any company name or website. If a report exists it opens instantly; if not, we start one.
PHP Agency - frequently asked
QIs PHP Agency a pyramid scheme?
QHow much do PHP Agency agents actually earn?
QHow much does it really cost to join PHP Agency?
QWhat are PHP Agency contract levels, and why does 30% matter?
QWhat happens if you leave PHP Agency?
Author, editor and publisher
This report was researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, working from primary documents - PHP Agency’s own compensation plan, its policies and procedures, its terms of service, its income disclosure statement where one exists, and its regulatory and self-regulatory file. It was scored against nine weighted dimensions that are published in full, with their weights, on the methodology page.
Before publication it was reviewed by Rob Fore, who checks every source link, every figure against the document it came from, and every allegation against its stage-label - an investigation is not a finding, a warning letter is not an enforcement action, and a filed claim is not a verdict.
The editor does not set the grade. The published score is the weighted composite of the nine dimension scores, and the build refuses to emit a page where the two disagree by more than 0.06. A grade moves when the evidence moves it and not otherwise.
Rob Fore has marketed online since 1996, wrote Online MLM Marketing (2014), and is CEO of Listech Inc, the Nevada corporation that publishes this site. He holds affiliate positions in companies graded here - including LiveGood, which this site grades D, SendOutCards, which it grades C−, and the Home Business Academy, which it grades B−. Those positions are disclosed on the reports they touch, and changed nothing on this page.
About the author and our conflicts · Contact the editor · Corrections: corrections@opportunitygrade.com
Tell me if this grade changes
PHP Agency is graded D+ as of July 31, 2026. Grades move when the evidence moves - a new income disclosure, a regulatory action, a rewritten compensation plan. Leave your address and you will get one email if this one does.
One email when the grade moves, and nothing else. We will never use your address to promote an income opportunity of any kind, we do not sell, rent or share the list, and it is stored on our own infrastructure rather than with any company graded here. Unsubscribe removes everything.
Corrections
Every factual claim on this page is sourced, and the ones we could not stand up are named in the unable to verify list above. If something here is wrong, we want to know, and we would rather hear it from PHP Agency than from a reader.
Write to corrections@opportunitygrade.com. Point at the specific sentence and send the document that contradicts it - a plan document, a filing, an income disclosure, a policy page. We will check it against the primary source, correct the page if it is wrong, and say in the report that it was corrected and when. A grade moves if the evidence moves it.
This address reaches a person, not a form. We do not require a takedown demand, an NDA or a lawyer to accept a correction, and we do not remove a report because a company disputes its conclusion - only because the underlying facts turn out to be wrong.