All reviews
Home / Reviews / eXp Realty
Real estate brokerage · Multi-tier revenue share

eXp Realty (AGNT, Inc.)

An excellent brokerage economically, wrapped in a residual-income story that its own policy manual does not support.

Reviewed July 27, 2026 Founded Founded 2009 · public since 2013 · renamed AGNT, Inc. June 11, 2026 Confidence: High
CGRADE
6.1/10
Weighted composite

GOOD BROKERAGE, OVERSOLD OPPORTUNITY

Join for the split. Do not join for the revenue share, and do not believe "for life."

The question you came with

Can you actually make money with eXp Realty?

GO, WITH CONDITIONS Only under conditions, and they are specific

Yes, if you are joining for the brokerage. The split is 80/20 capping at $16,000 and then you keep everything, against $149 to join, $85 a month and $25 to $40 a transaction, with no desk fee and no franchise royalty. For a productive agent that is roughly $19,000 a year better than a 70/30 franchise split, having recruited nobody.

The revenue share is the part being oversold, and the company's own documents are what say so. Recruiters routinely quote $16,000 per capped downline agent. The policy manual discloses a buffer capping total distribution at 50% of company dollar, which puts the real pool nearer $8,000, split across seven uplines. The company does publish an income disclosure stating that the median revenue share for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0, and in 2026 it widened the denominator, making its own numbers look worse. That is rare and it counts.

Then the durability. Vesting takes 36 consecutive months, and a vested agent who joins a competing brokerage keeps 1.5 of 20 percentage points, a loss of about 92.5%. The manual also provides that suing the company, or assisting anyone else in a suit against it, forfeits vested status entirely. The phrase "residual income for life" is doing a great deal of work in that sentence.

One thing about the counterparty, because it is public record. On 16 January 2026 the Delaware Court of Chancery found it reasonably conceivable that the chief executive breached his duty of loyalty in connection with allegations of covering up sexual misconduct. That is a pleading-stage finding rather than a verdict, and a jury trial naming him and the company was set to begin on 31 August 2026.

What it costs to be in
$149 + $85/mo

plus transaction fees; roughly $1,020/yr all in

What has to be true for this to work for you
  • You already hold a license and you are producing. The fees come back on one modest transaction, and the split starts beating a 70/30 franchise at about four sides a year, with no recruiting involved anywhere in that.
  • You treat the revenue share as a bonus rather than as the plan. The published median for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0, and the pool the policy manual actually supports is about half the figure recruiting material quotes.
  • You can stay 36 consecutive months and then keep staying. Almost nothing survives a move to a competitor, so what is being built here depends on you not leaving rather than on what you built.
  • You are comfortable joining a company whose chief executive is a named defendant with a trial date. That is a matter of court record, and it is the reason this file caps where it does.

That call is computed, not chosen - the rule reads three of the nine published dimension scores and is printed on the methodology page. It describes this company's plan and the figures it publishes about the people already in it. It is not a prediction about you, and nothing on this site is advice.

$0
Median Tier 1 revenue share
the company's own disclosure
~$8,000
Real revenue-share pool per capped agent
not the $16,000 recruiters quote
1.5 of 20
Points you keep if you join a competitor
after 36 months of vesting
82,332
Agents, Q1 2026
growth stalled to +1%

Legal status

LEGAL - a licensed real estate brokerage with real transactions. The company's own SEC filings disclose regulator requests about the revenue-share plan.

Confidence: High

Primary sources fetched directly where possible. Everything we could not verify is listed at the bottom of this page by name.

What this actually is

Follow the money

A cloud-based real estate brokerage with 82,332 agents and $4.77 billion of revenue, listed on Nasdaq, that pays agents an 80/20 commission split capping at $16,000 and layers a seven-tier revenue-share program on top of it.

Take the brokerage on its own terms first, because on its own terms it is good. There are no offices, no desk fees and no franchise royalty. You pay $149 to join, $85 a month, and $25 or $40 per transaction. You keep 80% until you have paid $16,000 in company dollar for the year, then you keep 100%. For a productive agent that is roughly $19,000 a year better than a 70/30 franchise split, before a single recruit. Agents also get access to registered company stock through award and purchase programs. If the review stopped here it would grade in the B range.

The revenue share is where it gets complicated. The pitch is that you sponsor agents, they sponsor agents, and seven tiers of production pay you a residual for life. Two things in the company's own documents contradict that story. First, the size: recruiters routinely quote $16,000 per capped downline agent, but the policy manual discloses a buffer capping total distribution at 50% of company dollar and applies the tier percentages to a monthly-adjusted figure rather than raw commission. The real pool is roughly $8,000, split across seven uplines.

Second, the durability. Vesting takes 36 consecutive months. After that, a vested agent who joins a competing brokerage keeps only the eXpansion Share - 1.5 of the 20 percentage points, a loss of about 92.5%. And the manual provides that suing the company, or assisting anyone else in a suit against it, forfeits vested status. "Residual income for life" is doing a great deal of work in that sentence.

What a capped agent actually generates for the revenue-share pool

The quoted figure against the figure the policy manual supports

50% 50%
Real distributable pool (~50% of company dollar)Retained by the company under the SRS Buffer
ProductPricePays
Startup fee
What it costs to join. No desk fee, no franchise fee, no office.
$149
one-time
Cloud brokerage fee
The recurring cost of the platform, tools and support.
$85
/mo
Transaction fee
Charged per closing. Modest by industry standards.
$25–40
per deal
Commission split
The actual product. This is why productive agents join and it is a genuinely competitive offer.
80/20
to a $16,000 cap
100% after cap
Revenue share
Split across seven uplines. Median for a typical Tier 1 agent: $0, per the company's own disclosure.
7 tiers
monthly
~$8,000 pool per capped agent
Equity programs
ICON awards and an agent stock purchase plan. Real registered equity in a public company - but the shares are down 95.3% from the 2021 peak.
award + purchase
registered stock
Background check

Who runs it, and what they ran before

GS
Glenn Sanford
Founder & CEO

Tech startups, then Keller Williams, then BuyerTours before founding this company in 2009. He has stated on the record in 2021 that he modeled the compensation plan on network marketing, and sold Kirby vacuums door to door as a young man. He is a defendant in litigation described below.

Ba
Board and governance
Post-2026 restructure

On 16 January 2026 the Delaware Court of Chancery found it "reasonably conceivable" that the chief executive breached his duty of loyalty in connection with allegations of covering up sexual misconduct. That is a pleading-stage finding, not a verdict. A jury trial naming both the company and its chief executive is scheduled to begin 31 August 2026.

Registered address

Bellingham, Washington - cloud brokerage, no physical offices
Redomesticated from Delaware to Texas on 11 June 2026, six weeks after an adverse Delaware Chancery ruling. 36.5 million unaffiliated shares were voted against the move.

Compensation plan

What has to be true for you to get paid

To coverYou need
Cover $149 + $85/mo (~$1,020/yr) 1 modest transaction
trivially achievable for any working agent
Beat a 70/30 franchise split ~4 sides per year
the split advantage compounds from there
Earn meaningful revenue share A producing downline across 7 tiers
median for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0
Keep revenue share if you leave 36 consecutive months, then stay
join a competitor and you keep 1.5 of 20 points

Read this twice

Note how different these four lines are. The first two are easy and are about the brokerage. The second two are hard and are about the opportunity. Almost everything written about this company online is about the second pair, and almost all of the reliable value is in the first.

Run your own numbers

Drag the sliders. Nothing here is stored or sent.

-
Cumulative net, after costs
Retained productive downline agents -
Commission that month -
Total commissions earned -
Total you paid in -
Net -

Tier 1 revenue share on a productive downline agent, using the ~$8,000 real pool split across seven uplines rather than the $16,000 figure recruiters quote. The company states the median for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0. Your own subscription cost of $85/mo is included.

Your money

What it costs to replace this yourself

The honest comparison here is not against a DIY stack - it is against the other place a licensed agent could hang their license. On that comparison the brokerage wins, and the review should say so plainly.

What they sell youWhat you'd use insteadYour cost
80/20 split, $16,000 cap, then 100%Traditional franchise at 70/30 with no cap~$19,000/yr worse at 10 sides
$85/mo cloud fee, no desk feeDesk fee brokerage at $300–800/mo$3,600–9,600/yr worse
$25–40 per transactionFranchise royalty of 6% off the topmaterially worse at volume
Registered stock awardsNo equity at a private franchisegenuine advantage, but the stock is down 95.3% from peak
Revenue share "for life"Nothing comparable elsewheremedian $0; 92.5% lost on departure
Total as sold
~$1,020/yr in fees
Total, built yourself
$3,600–9,600/yr at a desk-fee brokerage

Price-to-value

The brokerage economics are the real product and they are excellent - this is the rare case where the price-to-value comparison runs strongly in the company's favor. The revenue share is the part that is oversold, and it is also the part that recruits people.

Odds of profit

Three operators, five horizons

Probability of cumulative net profit

Hover any point for median, top decile and bottom quartile.

0% 25% 50% 75% 100%3 mo6 mo1 yr3 yr5 yr 86% 56% 50%
Producing agent, no recruiting - 10 transaction sides/yr, joins for the splitNew agent, no book - Licensed but starting from zeroRecruiter-builder - Builds a revenue-share organization

Producing agent, no recruiting

10 transaction sides/yr, joins for the split

HorizonP(profit)Median
3 mo 72% +$2,400
6 mo 80% +$6,800
1 yr 84% +$16,000
3 yr 86% +$52,000
5 yr 86% +$92,000

New agent, no book

Licensed but starting from zero

HorizonP(profit)Median
3 mo 14% −$1,600
6 mo 26% −$2,100
1 yr 38% +$900
3 yr 52% +$28,000
5 yr 56% +$54,000

Recruiter-builder

Builds a revenue-share organization

HorizonP(profit)Median
3 mo 30% −$900
6 mo 42% +$1,400
1 yr 50% +$8,000
3 yr 54% +$40,000
5 yr 50% +$62,000

Methodology note. MODELED from the published fee schedule, the commission cap and the disclosed revenue-share mechanics. The producing-agent row is the most reliable because it depends only on the split, which is contractual. The recruiter row is the least reliable and carries the most downside risk, because it depends on a plan the company can amend, on downline retention it does not disclose, and on the 92.5% forfeiture that applies if the builder ever leaves for a competitor.

Go-to-market

Where you are actually allowed to promote this

Platform policy reads, not verifications. Check every one before you spend a dollar - enforcement changes faster than the written policy does.

Channel
Status
Notes
Own sphere and past clients
ALLOWED
The normal way real estate is sold, and the channel the split rewards.
Portal advertising (Zillow etc.)
ALLOWED
Standard practice. Costs are yours.
Brokerage-branded advertising
ALLOWED WITH RULES
State license law requires the brokerage name and license disclosure in advertising. A 2022 California matter resulted in a stayed suspension over exactly this.
Google Ads
ALLOWED
Real estate services advertise normally. The opportunity angle is a different matter.
Meta Ads - listings
RESTRICTED
Special ad category rules apply to housing, which removes most targeting.
Recruiting content with income claims
HIGH RISK
This is where the exposure sits. Revenue-share earnings claims are the thing regulators and plaintiffs look at, and 16 CFR 255 liability lands on the person who posts.
"Residual income for life" framing
AVOID
Contradicted by the company's own policy manual on both size and durability. Repeating it is the single largest personal risk for anyone promoting this.
YouTube / organic content
ALLOWED
A large and genuinely useful agent-education niche exists here, and it is monetisable without touching the opportunity.
The evidence

Red flags and green flags

Red flags

13
1The $16,000-per-capped-agent figure is wrong
The policy manual discloses a buffer capping total revenue-share distribution at 50% of company dollar, and applies tier percentages to a monthly-adjusted figure rather than raw commission. The real distributable pool is approximately $8,000, split across seven uplines. Recruiter sites publish the inflated number almost universally.
2"Residual income for life" is materially misleading
Under the policy manual, a vested agent who joins a competing brokerage retains only the eXpansion Share - 1.5 of the 20 percentage points, a loss of roughly 92.5%. Vesting itself requires 36 consecutive months first.
3Suing the company forfeits your vested revenue share
The manual provides that bringing an action against the company, or assisting anyone else in one, terminates vested status. A clause that makes exercising a legal right expensive is a clause worth reading twice.
4The 10-K discloses regulator requests about the revenue-share plan
Verbatim: "From time to time, the Company has received requests to supply information regarding its revenue sharing plan to regulatory agencies." No agency, jurisdiction or outcome is named. The same filings describe the plan as "similar in some respects to network marketing."
5A Chancery court sustained duty-of-loyalty claims against the chief executive
On 16 January 2026 the Delaware Court of Chancery found it "reasonably conceivable" that the chief executive "actively covered up acts of rape and sexual assault" and thereby "breached his duty of loyalty." This is a pleading-stage ruling on the sufficiency of allegations, not a verdict. A jury trial naming the company and its chief executive is scheduled for 31 August 2026.
6Redomestication to Texas six weeks after that ruling
The move from Delaware to Texas completed on 11 June 2026. Holders of 36.5 million unaffiliated shares voted against it. The company gives business reasons; the timing is what it is, and shareholders are entitled to draw their own conclusions.
7The company moved to bar an expert who would testify it is an MLM
A motion in limine filed ahead of the August 2026 trial seeks to exclude expert testimony characterising the revenue-share structure as multi-level marketing.
8A net loss and collapsing profitability
FY2025 revenue of $4.772 billion, up 4%, but a net loss of $22.7 million and adjusted EBITDA down 56% to $33.2 million. Growth in agents has stalled to 1%.
9The stock is down 95.3% from its 2021 peak
Roughly $695 million of market capitalisation at $4.23, down 64% over twelve months. Agents holding equity awards as part of their compensation have taken that ride.
10An SEC cease-and-desist and a state real estate matter
A $115,000 SEC cease-and-desist in 2023, and a 2022 California Department of Real Estate matter resulting in a stayed suspension over agent advertising.
11A $34 million antitrust settlement
Final approval 31 March 2026, part of the industry-wide commission litigation. Not company-specific misconduct, but it is real money and real exposure.
12Net promoter score falling
From 78 to 67 between reporting periods. Agent satisfaction is the leading indicator for a brokerage whose entire model is agent retention.
13The recruiting pitch and the policy manual describe different products
Everything above reduces to this. Nothing in the brokerage offer needs exaggeration - it is good on its own numbers. The exaggeration is all in the residual-income layer, and that is the layer doing the recruiting.

Green flags

10
1The brokerage economics are genuinely excellent
80/20 to a $16,000 cap then 100%, with roughly $1,020 a year in fixed fees and no desk fee, no franchise royalty and no office. A ten-side agent keeps around $19,000 a year more than at a 70/30 franchise, having recruited nobody. That is the product, and it is a good one.
2It publishes an income disclosure and it is candid
The document states plainly that the median revenue share for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0. Companies do not usually publish sentences like that about themselves.
3In 2026 it widened the denominator, making its own numbers look worse
A voluntary methodology change that reduced its own headline figures. That is the opposite of what a company managing a narrative does, and it earns real credit.
4Revenue Share 2.0 moved unlocks toward personal production
The redesign tied tier access more closely to the agent's own transactions and less to pure recruiting. That is a move in the direction regulators have been pushing this entire industry.
5The customer is a homebuyer, not a recruit
Revenue comes from real estate commissions on real transactions with real consumers. Retail demand is not a question here, which is the single most common failure point in this category.
6A real, licensed, regulated business
State real estate licensing applies to every participant. Brokers are supervised. There is an independent competence gate before anyone earns anything.
7No inventory, no autoship, no product purchase, no volume quota
Nothing to buy, nothing to load, no monthly minimum. Downside is bounded by fees, not by stock sitting in a garage.
8Registered public equity, transparently granted
The ICON award and agent stock purchase programs are registered securities in an SEC-reporting issuer, not private paper of uncertain value. The share price has fallen hard, but the instrument is real and tradable.
9Sixteen years of public filings
Agent counts, revenue, losses and risk factors are all in filings anyone can read. Most of the negatives in this review came from the company's own disclosures, which is itself a point in its favor.
10You can take the good part and skip the rest
Nothing requires you to recruit. Join for the split, work your sphere, never sponsor a single agent, and the economics still beat most alternatives. That optionality is rare in anything with a multi-tier plan attached.
What would move this grade

We would like to be wrong about this

Upward

  • Publication of a full revenue-share distribution - how many agents earn what, by tier - rather than a single median statement.
  • Removal of the clause forfeiting vested revenue share for bringing or assisting litigation against the company.
  • Resolution of the pending litigation without an adverse finding against the chief executive, and a return to agent growth.

Downward

  • An adverse jury verdict in the trial scheduled to begin 31 August 2026.
  • A regulator characterising the revenue-share plan as an unlawful pyramid, or an enforcement action arising from the disclosed information requests.
  • A material reduction in the commission split or the cap - the part of the offer that currently carries the grade.
The better trade

Grade is C. The brokerage deserves a B; the opportunity drags it down. So take the brokerage and leave the opportunity.

If you are a licensed, producing agent, the split is the whole argument and it is a strong one. Roughly $1,020 a year in fees against 80/20 capping at $16,000, no desk fee and no franchise royalty. Work your sphere, close your sides, keep the difference. You do not have to sponsor anybody, and the moment you stop needing to believe the residual story, this becomes a straightforward and rather good business decision.

What you should not do is build a career on the revenue share. The policy manual caps the pool at half of what recruiters quote, vesting takes three years, leaving for a competitor costs you 92.5% of it, and suing the company costs you all of it. Meanwhile the plan itself can be amended, agent growth has stalled to 1%, and the company posted a net loss last year. That is a lot of dependency on a structure you do not control.

The merchant version of this is obvious and nobody is serving it well. There are 82,332 agents inside this brokerage and hundreds of thousands more across the industry, all of whom need listings, leads, and marketing that complies with state advertising law. Selling to agents is a business you own. Being paid on other agents' production is a business somebody else owns and can rewrite.

1

Join for the split, ignore the tiers

Four sides a year beats a 70/30 franchise. Ten sides is roughly $19,000 a year better. None of that requires sponsoring anyone or believing anything.

2

Never repeat the revenue-share numbers

The $16,000 figure is not supported by the policy manual and "for life" is contradicted by it. Repeating either creates personal 16 CFR 255 exposure for a claim the company itself hedges in its filings.

3

Sell to agents, not through them

Lead generation, listing marketing and compliant advertising templates for licensed agents is a real recurring-revenue business with a large, funded, easy-to-reach buyer.

4

Build the honest comparison as content

Split-versus-franchise maths, done properly with the real fee schedule, is genuinely useful to tens of thousands of agents and ranks well. The gap in the market is accuracy, not enthusiasm.

Nothing in the brokerage offer needs exaggerating. The exaggeration is all in the layer that does the recruiting.
Scorecard

Nine dimensions, weighted

Comp structure & KoscotDoes the plan pay for recruitment or for sales to real customers?
20%
6.0
Seven capped tiers paid out of company dollar on real estate commissions from real consumer transactions. Revenue Share 2.0 moved the unlock requirements toward personal production and away from pure recruiting, which is a genuine improvement. It remains a plan where depth pays.
Securities exposureAny passive return on capital? Howey, staking, tokens, withdrawal friction.
15%
9.0
The equity component is registered public stock in an SEC-reporting issuer, purchased or awarded transparently. There is no unregistered offering and no passive-return promise anywhere in the plan.
Ownership & track recordWho runs it, what did they run before, and what happened to it.
15%
3.0
A Delaware Chancery court found it reasonably conceivable that the chief executive breached his duty of loyalty in connection with alleged concealment of sexual misconduct. A jury trial naming him and the company begins 31 August 2026. The company redomesticated to Texas six weeks after that ruling.
Product reality & demandWould a rational buyer purchase this if no income offer existed?
12%
8.5
This is a real brokerage doing real volume - $4.77 billion of revenue in FY2025 across 82,332 agents. The customer is a homebuyer or seller, not a recruit. Retail demand is not in question.
Participant economicsReal cost in, realistic money out, and whether they publish the numbers.
10%
6.5
It publishes an income disclosure and states plainly that the median revenue share for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0. In 2026 it widened the denominator, voluntarily making its own numbers look worse. That is rare and it counts.
Price-to-valueWhat the same capability costs on the open market.
8%
8.0
Roughly $1,020 a year in fees against an 80/20 split capping at $16,000. A ten-transaction agent keeps materially more than at a traditional franchise, having recruited nobody. The core offer is genuinely good value.
Payout sustainabilityCan the company fund the plan out of margin, or only out of inflow?
8%
5.0
A net loss of $22.7 million in FY2025 and adjusted EBITDA down 56%. Agent growth has stalled to 1%. The revenue share is capped at 50% of company dollar by an internal buffer, which protects the company but is not disclosed in recruiting material.
Marketing conductIncome claims, regulator run-ins, hype, deadline stacking.
7%
3.5
The "residual income for life" framing is contradicted by the company's own policy manual. A California Department of Real Estate matter in 2022 resulted in a stayed suspension over agent advertising, and a $115,000 SEC cease-and-desist followed in 2023.
Operator terms & exitWho owns the customer, what you forfeit, how hard it is to leave.
5%
2.0
Vesting requires 36 consecutive months. A vested agent who joins a competitor keeps 1.5 of 20 percentage points - a 92.5% loss. And suing the company, or assisting anyone else's suit against it, forfeits vested status entirely.
Weighted composite
6.10
C

Dimension profile

Further from center is better. Hover any point.

Comp structure& Koscot 6.0 Securitiesexposure 9.0 Ownership &track record 3.0 Product reality& demand 8.5 Participanteconomics 6.5 Price-to-value 8.0 Payoutsustainability 5.0 Marketingconduct 3.5 Operator terms& exit 2.0

Hard caps that bind here

Cap at C+ pending litigation naming the chief executive with a Chancery finding that duty-of-loyalty claims are reasonably conceivable.
Cap at B− material gap between the recruiting pitch and the policy manual on both the size and the durability of revenue share.

The lowest binding cap wins, regardless of the weighted arithmetic.

Sources consulted

What we read

Every source below links to the document itself. Tier 1 is a primary record - the company’s own plan, policy or disclosure, a court filing, a regulator’s decision or an SEC filing. Tier 2 is a self-regulatory or secondary regulator record, tier 3 reporting or academic work, tier 4 an open-market price comparison. Where a document can be moved or withdrawn, an archived copy is linked beside it. If a link is dead when you try it, that is a correction we want.

  1. eXp World Holdings, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended 31 December 2025 (filed 24 February 2026)
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-02-24archived copy

    SEC EDGAR - CIK 0001495932, Form 10-K FY2025 and subsequent filings; ticker changed EXPI → AGNT 8 May 2026

  2. SEC EDGAR - eXp World Holdings / AGNT, Inc. (CIK 0001495932) Form 10-K filing index
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)archived copy
  3. Form 8-K, 7 May 2026 - Nasdaq ticker symbol change from EXPI to AGNT effective 8 May 2026
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-05-07archived copy
  4. "eXp World Holdings, Inc. Completes Transformation to AGNT, Inc." - Exhibit 99.1 to Form 8-K, 11 June 2026 (rename and Texas redomestication)
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-06-11archived copy
  5. eXp World Holdings Reports Q4 and Full-Year 2025 Results - Exhibit 99.1 to Form 8-K, 24 February 2026 (83,060 agents; aNPS 75)
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-02-24archived copy

    investors.exprealty.com - FY2025 and Q1 2026 results releases, agent counts, NPS disclosure

  6. eXp World Holdings Reports Q1 2026 Results - Exhibit 99.1 to Form 8-K, 11 May 2026 (82,332 agents; aNPS 67 vs 78)
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-05-11archived copy
  7. AGNT, Inc. investor press release - eXp World Holdings Reports Q1 2026 Results
    Company documentTier 1AGNT, Inc. (formerly eXp World Holdings, Inc.) · 2026-05-11archived copy
  8. eXp Realty (USA) Policies and Procedures, Version_R_USA_EN_09.15.2025 - Exhibit 10.14 to FY2025 Form 10-K (eXp Sustainable Revenue Share Plan, SRS Buffer, vesting, eXpansion Share, forfeiture)
    Policies & proceduresTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) / eXp Realty, LLC · 2025-09-15archived copy

    eXp Realty Policies & Procedures - SRS Buffer, vesting, eXpansion Share, forfeiture provisions

  9. eXp Realty (USA) Independent Contractor Agreement, Version_R_USA_EN_09.15.2025 - Exhibit 10.13 to FY2025 Form 10-K (incorporates the Policies and Procedures by reference)
    Policies & proceduresTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) / eXp Realty, LLC · 2025-09-15archived copy
  10. eXp Realty Policies and Procedures, Version USA 02.01.2024.a - Exhibit 10.17 to FY2023 Form 10-K (earlier version, for comparison of revenue-share vesting and succession terms)
    Policies & proceduresTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) / eXp Realty, LLC · 2024-02-01archived copy
  11. eXp Realty U.S. Income Disclosure - 2025 performance year, published 2026 (PDF)
    Income disclosureTier 1eXp Realty, LLC · 2026-03archived copy

    eXp Realty published revenue share income disclosure, 2026 edition

  12. eXp Realty Income Disclosure landing page - exprealty.com/income (median revenue share for a typical Tier 1 agent stated as $0)
    Income disclosureTier 1eXp Realty, LLC · 2026archived copy
  13. eXp Realty Canada Income Disclosure - 2025 performance year, published 2026 (PDF)
    Income disclosureTier 1eXp Realty Canada · 2026-03archived copy
  14. Los Angeles City Employees' Retirement System v. Sanford, C.A. No. 2024-0998-KSJM - Memorandum Opinion, Delaware Court of Chancery, 16 January 2026 (motion to dismiss denied as to Sanford and the director defendants)
    Court recordTier 1Court of Chancery of the State of Delaware · 2026-01-16archived copy

    Delaware Court of Chancery ruling, 16 January 2026 - duty-of-loyalty claims sustained at the pleading stage

  15. Los Angeles City Employees' Retirement System v. Sanford - opinion PDF (courtesy copy, C.A. No. 2024-0998-KSJM)
    Court recordTier 1Justia (Delaware Court of Chancery opinion) · 2026-01-16archived copy
  16. In the Matter of eXp World Holdings, Inc. - Order Instituting Cease-and-Desist Proceedings, Exchange Act Release No. 34-98551, Admin. Proc. File No. 3-21736, 27 September 2023 ($115,000 civil penalty)
    RegulatorTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · 2023-09-27archived copy

    SEC administrative proceeding, 2023 - $115,000 cease-and-desist

  17. SEC press release 2023-201, "SEC Charges Corporate Insiders for Failing to Timely Report Transactions and Holdings" (27 September 2023) - names eXp World Holdings, Inc., $115,000
    RegulatorTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · 2023-09-27archived copy
  18. Stipulation and Agreement in Settlement and Order, eXp Realty of California, Inc. and Deborah Lynn Penny, DRE Case No. H-05279 SD - 90-day stayed suspension, $9,000 monetary penalty, 28 December 2022 (PDF)
    RegulatorTier 1California Department of Real Estate · 2022-12-28archived copy

    California Department of Real Estate, 2022 - stayed suspension over agent advertising

  19. Accusation, eXp Realty of California, Inc.; Deborah Lynn Penny; et al., DRE Case No. H-05279 SD - agent advertising, team-name and fictitious-business-name violations (PDF)
    RegulatorTier 1California Department of Real Estate · 2022-02-23archived copy
  20. DRE Summary of Enforcement Actions, December 2022 - entry H05279SD, eXp Realty of California, Inc., "Suspension with Stay – Monetary Penalty"
    RegulatorTier 1California Department of Real Estate · 2022-12archived copy
  21. Order Granting Final Approval of Settlements, 1925 Hooper LLC v. Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices, No. 1:23-cv-05392-MHC (N.D. Ga.), entered 31 March 2026 - eXp $34 million (PDF)
    Court recordTier 1U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia (via court-approved settlement administrator) · 2026-03-31archived copy

    Industry antitrust settlement, final approval 31 March 2026 - $34 million

  22. eXp Settlement Agreement dated 9 December 2024 - Exhibit 10.1 to Form 8-K ($34 million Total Monetary Settlement Amount; nationwide home-seller class)
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) / eXp World Holdings, Inc. · 2024-12-09archived copy
  23. Form 8-K, 31 March 2026 - court grants final approval of the eXp nationwide commission settlement
    SEC filingTier 1U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 2026-03-31archived copy
  24. Nationwide Real Estate Commission Settlement - official class settlement website (status, Eleventh Circuit appeal Nos. 26-11566 / 26-11567)
    Court recordTier 1CPT Group, Inc., court-appointed settlement administrator · 2026-06-13archived copy
Unable to verify

What we could not get

  • Q2 2026 results - due 4 August 2026, not yet reported at the time of review
  • The identity of the regulatory agencies that requested revenue-share information, and the outcome of those requests
  • Full revenue-share earnings distribution by tier - only a median statement is published
  • Agent attrition and downline retention rates - not disclosed
  • The outcome of the trial scheduled to begin 31 August 2026
  • Whether the SRS Buffer percentage has changed since the policy manual version reviewed

Not advice

This is independent analysis for decision-making, not legal, financial or investment advice. Allegations reported by third parties should be verified against primary court and regulatory records before any decision.

Who writes this

Researched by Claude. Reviewed by an editor.

Every report is researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, from the company’s own plan documents, policies, terms and regulatory file - then reviewed before publication by Rob Fore, who checks the sources and the stage-label on every allegation.

  • Nine weighted dimensions, published with their weights
  • The editor checks the evidence and cannot change the number - the build rejects any page whose grade does not reconcile to its own arithmetic
  • Every affiliate position we hold is disclosed on the report it touches
  • No company has paid for a grade, and no report carries an affiliate link
Read the About page

Looking at something else?

Enter any company name or website. If a report exists it opens instantly; if not, we start one.

Try:
Common questions

eXp Realty - frequently asked

QIs eXp Realty an MLM or a pyramid scheme?
It is a licensed real estate brokerage, and revenue comes from commissions on real property transactions with real consumers - not from recruitment fees. That said, the company's own SEC filings describe its revenue-share plan as "similar in some respects to network marketing" and disclose that it has received requests from regulatory agencies for information about that plan. The founder has stated on the record that he modeled the compensation plan on network marketing.
QHow much is eXp Realty revenue share really worth per agent?
Recruiters commonly quote $16,000 per capped downline agent. The company's own Policies and Procedures disclose a buffer capping total revenue-share distribution at 50% of company dollar and apply tier percentages to a monthly-adjusted figure rather than raw commission. The realistic distributable pool is closer to $8,000, split across seven uplines. The published income disclosure states that the median revenue share for a typical Tier 1 agent is $0.
QIs eXp Realty revenue share really "for life"?
Not as most people would understand the phrase. Vesting requires 36 consecutive months. After vesting, an agent who joins a competing brokerage retains only the eXpansion Share - 1.5 of the 20 percentage points, a loss of roughly 92.5%. The policy manual also provides that bringing or assisting litigation against the company forfeits vested status entirely.
QWhat does eXp Realty cost?
$149 to join, $85 per month, and $25 to $40 per transaction - roughly $1,020 a year all in. The commission split is 80/20 until you have paid $16,000 in company dollar for the year, after which you keep 100%. There is no desk fee, no franchise royalty and no office requirement.
QIs eXp Realty worth joining?
For a producing licensed agent, the split alone is a strong argument - roughly $19,000 a year better than a 70/30 franchise at ten transaction sides, with no recruiting required. The weakness is the revenue-share layer, which is smaller and far less durable than the recruiting pitch suggests. Join for the brokerage economics; treat the residual-income story with caution.
Who wrote this report

Author, editor and publisher

C
Written by Claude AI
Reviewed by Rob Fore · Published by Listech Inc · July 27, 2026

This report was researched and written by Claude, Anthropic’s AI assistant, working from primary documents - eXp Realty’s own compensation plan, its policies and procedures, its terms of service, its income disclosure statement where one exists, and its regulatory and self-regulatory file. It was scored against nine weighted dimensions that are published in full, with their weights, on the methodology page.

Before publication it was reviewed by Rob Fore, who checks every source link, every figure against the document it came from, and every allegation against its stage-label - an investigation is not a finding, a warning letter is not an enforcement action, and a filed claim is not a verdict.

The editor does not set the grade. The published score is the weighted composite of the nine dimension scores, and the build refuses to emit a page where the two disagree by more than 0.06. A grade moves when the evidence moves it and not otherwise.

Rob Fore has marketed online since 1996, wrote Online MLM Marketing (2014), and is CEO of Listech Inc, the Nevada corporation that publishes this site. He holds affiliate positions in companies graded here - including LiveGood, which this site grades D, SendOutCards, which it grades C−, and the Home Business Academy, which it grades B−. Those positions are disclosed on the reports they touch, and changed nothing on this page.

About the author and our conflicts  ·  Contact the editor  ·  Corrections: corrections@opportunitygrade.com

Stay with it

Tell me if this grade changes

eXp Realty is graded C as of July 27, 2026. Grades move when the evidence moves - a new income disclosure, a regulatory action, a rewritten compensation plan. Leave your address and you will get one email if this one does.

One email when the grade moves, and nothing else. We will never use your address to promote an income opportunity of any kind, we do not sell, rent or share the list, and it is stored on our own infrastructure rather than with any company graded here. Unsubscribe removes everything.

Right of reply

Corrections

Every factual claim on this page is sourced, and the ones we could not stand up are named in the unable to verify list above. If something here is wrong, we want to know, and we would rather hear it from eXp Realty than from a reader.

Write to corrections@opportunitygrade.com. Point at the specific sentence and send the document that contradicts it - a plan document, a filing, an income disclosure, a policy page. We will check it against the primary source, correct the page if it is wrong, and say in the report that it was corrected and when. A grade moves if the evidence moves it.

This address reaches a person, not a form. We do not require a takedown demand, an NDA or a lawyer to accept a correction, and we do not remove a report because a company disputes its conclusion - only because the underlying facts turn out to be wrong.

Other published reports

Every report is written to stand alone. Graded on the same nine weighted dimensions and the same six legal tests. Twelve of 107, spread across the grade bands.

See all 107 published reports →